Old-World Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I'm not a fan of cabbage, but I got it in my CSA box, and I tried this. I don't know how big a "medium" head is, but I used roughly 10-12 cups of chopped cabbage, 4 cups of veggie stock, a knorr chicken stock concentrate tub with 2-3 cups water for the chicken stock (subtracted cups of water the recipe called to account for the added stocks), 5 carrots and celery, and garlic powder. All in the crockpot for about 6-7 hrs on low. Added drained/rinsed cannellini beans for the last half hour (about 4 cups). We really liked it. My husband isn't a fan of soups usually but even he said it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Eliminate the ketchup and the vegetable cocktail juice. Replace with two cans of unsalted diced tomatoes -- or your own home canned tomatoes. There's also no reason to "nuke" the chopped vegetables in a microwave. Sautee them in a little butter with two table spoons of olive oil then add to pot. Everything will be perfect after two hours simmering on the stove. Add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Best soup ever. I used beef broth rather than chicken, as well as "Garden cocktail veg." It was Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Loved this soup! Was a little sweet which was ok with me. Only thing I did different was add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
was very simple and mindless to make and yet was very robust with flavor. I might add I used V8 instead of fruit cocktail and it came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Initially I would have rated this 3 stars because it was a little bland to me. Then I followed another persons advice and added some dried herbs - basil, oregano, and marjoram. Now it is much, much better. I even threw in some edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I used napa cabbage and some left-over sausage stuffed mushrooms (Italian sausage). It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used a whole cabbage and took the advice of adding white beans. I also added some hot sauce for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
5 stars with slight tweeking ..... could not imagine ketchup in soup so I omitted it. (No problem) I added 2 large cloves of garlic (yum) and added 2 cans of drained red beans = yes. Next time I will add some cooked ground turkey and only used one can of beans.. Also, there is no need to microwave the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States