Old Virginia Wassail Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
My mom made wassail every christmas for me growing up and this is almost the exact recipe she used, only instead of honey she used sugar. Now that she is gone I make it for my kids every year, it has such a wonderfull tangy sweet flavor and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was great in the slow cooker. Due to all the pots being in use at my in-laws house, I just put everything in the crock pot to begin with. Didn't get to bring it to a boil, so the spiced part wasn't as pungent, but this was still a great combination! Everyone loved the sweetness of the pineapple juice which makes this taste a little peppier than a normal apple cider recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
this was amazing! we slow cooked it for atleast an hour. came out perfect. of course we didn't make enough =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EccoXile

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I followed recipe, except added a couple of cups of cranberry/pomegrante juice (100% juice, no sugar added variety) that I needed to get out of fridge because I needed the space. Also, I stuck whole cloves in the thin orange slices and floated them in the cider, which makes a pretty presentation. Was wonderful -- even kids loved it -- I'll make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was amazing!! I was a little unsure that it would taste to citrus-y but it was the perfect blend of flavors. It wasn't too sweet and all the flavors blended together beautifully. I did leave out the cloves because I do not like them. Usually I get a recipe then tweak it, look for others, try those, and then come up with my own to perfect it. This was really perfect as is (minus the cloves). I don't think it can be improved. Thanks so much, this is my new holiday drink. At my party today everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have made a similar recipe for many years for Christmas Day. I poke the whole cloves on an orange and place it in the pot with all the other ingredients. I don't bring to a boil, I just let mine simmer in the slow cooker and remove the cinnamon sticks and orange before serving. I also use apple juice instead of apple cider. Personal choice. This is a Christmas tradition I started many years ago and I hope my children will continue the tradition when they are grown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Good recipe. It smelled wonderful simmering in my crock pot on xmas morning. I didn't have cloves so I just added about 1/2 tsp of ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I used the cidar, honey, and orange juice (freshly sqeezed), but didn't have pinapple juice available. I put the cloves in a tied coffee filter, let the cinnamon just float in the drink, and I also put some orange wedges in there (they looked great.) This was actually kind of sweet for me, but the kids I babysit and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very good and simple to make but I was personally looking for something a little warmer and spicier than this. Something more like cider with mulling spices, etc. Excellent for what it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States