Old Virginia Wassail Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This brought back memories for the grandparents! We loved it. My 6-year-old daughter even liked to drink it cold because she doesn't like hot drinks. But everyone else drank it hot. It was great either way. I don't ever have cheesecloth lying around, but I at least should have strained the cloves out after preparing the recipe because some of them sank after they got saturated and then it is a lot harder to fish them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
we made this a long time ago and I just forgot to rate and review...talk about absolutely yummy! Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I had wassail when I was young and have always loved it. This recipe is exactly like what I remember, it's delicious! I've made it at Christmas for the past 3 or 4 yrs and it is always a hit. I like to stick the cloves into the outside of and orange and drop the whole thing in.....gives it extra flavor and you don't have to worry about fishing out the cloves. Also, I often put out a bottle of Apple Brandy with the cider which makes a great adult version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was great in the slow cooker. Due to all the pots being in use at my in-laws house, I just put everything in the crock pot to begin with. Didn't get to bring it to a boil, so the spiced part wasn't as pungent, but this was still a great combination! Everyone loved the sweetness of the pineapple juice which makes this taste a little peppier than a normal apple cider recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
this was amazing! we slow cooked it for atleast an hour. came out perfect. of course we didn't make enough =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EccoXile

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I followed recipe, except added a couple of cups of cranberry/pomegrante juice (100% juice, no sugar added variety) that I needed to get out of fridge because I needed the space. Also, I stuck whole cloves in the thin orange slices and floated them in the cider, which makes a pretty presentation. Was wonderful -- even kids loved it -- I'll make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
So good! Stuck it in a crock pot on high an hour before my party started and was perfect and ready for serving when guests arrived. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So Yummy! I added 1/3 cup of lemon juice and 1/4 cup of red hots candy, just to give it some zing. I also let it simmer for about an hour and a half, which just helped to blend the flavors, and the whole house smelled fantastic. Everyone at the party raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a nice variation on traditional apple cider. I liked the citrus flavor added by the orange and pineapple juices. I received compliments from multiple guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made this for Christmas and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States