Old Virginia Wassail Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was a nice variation on traditional apple cider. I liked the citrus flavor added by the orange and pineapple juices. I received compliments from multiple guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So Yummy! I added 1/3 cup of lemon juice and 1/4 cup of red hots candy, just to give it some zing. I also let it simmer for about an hour and a half, which just helped to blend the flavors, and the whole house smelled fantastic. Everyone at the party raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
So good! Stuck it in a crock pot on high an hour before my party started and was perfect and ready for serving when guests arrived. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was very good and simple to make but I was personally looking for something a little warmer and spicier than this. Something more like cider with mulling spices, etc. Excellent for what it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I used the cidar, honey, and orange juice (freshly sqeezed), but didn't have pinapple juice available. I put the cloves in a tied coffee filter, let the cinnamon just float in the drink, and I also put some orange wedges in there (they looked great.) This was actually kind of sweet for me, but the kids I babysit and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Good recipe. It smelled wonderful simmering in my crock pot on xmas morning. I didn't have cloves so I just added about 1/2 tsp of ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have made a similar recipe for many years for Christmas Day. I poke the whole cloves on an orange and place it in the pot with all the other ingredients. I don't bring to a boil, I just let mine simmer in the slow cooker and remove the cinnamon sticks and orange before serving. I also use apple juice instead of apple cider. Personal choice. This is a Christmas tradition I started many years ago and I hope my children will continue the tradition when they are grown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was amazing!! I was a little unsure that it would taste to citrus-y but it was the perfect blend of flavors. It wasn't too sweet and all the flavors blended together beautifully. I did leave out the cloves because I do not like them. Usually I get a recipe then tweak it, look for others, try those, and then come up with my own to perfect it. This was really perfect as is (minus the cloves). I don't think it can be improved. Thanks so much, this is my new holiday drink. At my party today everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I followed recipe, except added a couple of cups of cranberry/pomegrante juice (100% juice, no sugar added variety) that I needed to get out of fridge because I needed the space. Also, I stuck whole cloves in the thin orange slices and floated them in the cider, which makes a pretty presentation. Was wonderful -- even kids loved it -- I'll make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States