Old-Time Taffy Pull Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Easy and a lot of fun! My kids helped with the pulling and it can get sticky. It's so much fun, a Taffy pulling party is in the works here!! I used flavorings such as banana, cherry and lemon you can buy from the grocery store in the spice section and it was very, very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
This recipe was great and I have made it twice already. I would, however suggest using 1/2 the amount of salt the recipe calls for. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
That was beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
What a great taste!! It was so simple to make!! It was much better than the vinegar taffy I tried. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I found candy will vary depending on your altitude and humidity. A sure fired way to get the taffy to the finished consitancy is to drop a drop of the hod liquid into a cold cup of water and then check if it is soft crack or hard crack or what ever your consistancy you desire. My Mother and Grandmother taught me this. they never needed a thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveherrin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out perfect! Candy is very tempermental. A few things you have to make sure of is that you cook it at medium heat, cook until it reaches 250 degrees and pull it long enough for it to pull apart rather than stretch, at that point start twisting one end until it reached the thickness you want for the candy and cut it with scissors. At first the pieces are still warm and will fuse together if they are touching, spread them apart on wax paper and wait for them to cool completely. Butter your hands before you start pulling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Dahmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I don't like taffy but my husband does AND HE LOVED IT!!! I've tried several different recipes but this one is the best. The almonds were kinda strange but it was delicious and the directions easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUMMERCOOKS
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I made this recipe with a 12- and 11-year old. We took it off the stove at about 230 degrees, because it looked like it was starting to burn. We divided the taffy before adding the extracts; we made maple, mint and vanilla. Maple tastes like butterscotch. I think we pulled the taffy too long because it was very hard to chew- it actually pulled out someone's metal filling. We 1/2ed the salt, omitted the food coloring and almonds, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMERCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Remember, the taffy will not be like the chewy taffy you buy in the store! This taffy is to be sucked on only, if you try to chew it, it will rip your fillings out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I think i did something wrong its still really goey Im going to try this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States