Old-Time Taffy Pull Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
This recipe was great and I have made it twice already. I would, however suggest using 1/2 the amount of salt the recipe calls for. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Easy and a lot of fun! My kids helped with the pulling and it can get sticky. It's so much fun, a Taffy pulling party is in the works here!! I used flavorings such as banana, cherry and lemon you can buy from the grocery store in the spice section and it was very, very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
It looked good when I started, but When is cooled, it never hardened, it jsut turned into a cold lumpy puddle, I think my candy thermometer was stuck on 100C so I'm not sure what was the problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
That was beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I couldn't get this to go very hard, it stayed pretty liquid, but it tasted good anyways off a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
What a great taste!! It was so simple to make!! It was much better than the vinegar taffy I tried. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I have made this recipe. It started off pretty well, but when you get to the cooling part, watch out. It starts harding and it is as hard as a rock before it has cooled off. Are you supposed to strech taffy as it is burning your hands? I threw it in a pan and waited for it to cool down. It tastes very good, I give Monica that, but it looks like a hard puddle. It also took a long time to clean off. I had to soak it for a few hours and then scrub for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I agree with two other reviews, turned out too soft, had to boil 2x, and cut salt in half. Otherwise, flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSI5US

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was a good recipe, but not exactly what I was hoping for. I did get it to pull and form into smaller candies wrapped in wax paper, but I couldn't get the "shiny" appearance to go away. Maybe I should have just pulled longer?? The taste seemed very sugary comparitive to store bough taffy, but the texture and feel was close. I may try again and see if I can nail it the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUMMERCOOKS
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I made this recipe with a 12- and 11-year old. We took it off the stove at about 230 degrees, because it looked like it was starting to burn. We divided the taffy before adding the extracts; we made maple, mint and vanilla. Maple tastes like butterscotch. I think we pulled the taffy too long because it was very hard to chew- it actually pulled out someone's metal filling. We 1/2ed the salt, omitted the food coloring and almonds, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMERCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States