Old-Time Taffy Pull Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I don't like taffy but my husband does AND HE LOVED IT!!! I've tried several different recipes but this one is the best. The almonds were kinda strange but it was delicious and the directions easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Turned out perfect! Candy is very tempermental. A few things you have to make sure of is that you cook it at medium heat, cook until it reaches 250 degrees and pull it long enough for it to pull apart rather than stretch, at that point start twisting one end until it reached the thickness you want for the candy and cut it with scissors. At first the pieces are still warm and will fuse together if they are touching, spread them apart on wax paper and wait for them to cool completely. Butter your hands before you start pulling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Dahmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I think i did something wrong its still really goey Im going to try this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Remember, the taffy will not be like the chewy taffy you buy in the store! This taffy is to be sucked on only, if you try to chew it, it will rip your fillings out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I found candy will vary depending on your altitude and humidity. A sure fired way to get the taffy to the finished consitancy is to drop a drop of the hod liquid into a cold cup of water and then check if it is soft crack or hard crack or what ever your consistancy you desire. My Mother and Grandmother taught me this. they never needed a thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveherrin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUMMERCOOKS
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I made this recipe with a 12- and 11-year old. We took it off the stove at about 230 degrees, because it looked like it was starting to burn. We divided the taffy before adding the extracts; we made maple, mint and vanilla. Maple tastes like butterscotch. I think we pulled the taffy too long because it was very hard to chew- it actually pulled out someone's metal filling. We 1/2ed the salt, omitted the food coloring and almonds, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMERCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was a good recipe, but not exactly what I was hoping for. I did get it to pull and form into smaller candies wrapped in wax paper, but I couldn't get the "shiny" appearance to go away. Maybe I should have just pulled longer?? The taste seemed very sugary comparitive to store bough taffy, but the texture and feel was close. I may try again and see if I can nail it the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I agree with two other reviews, turned out too soft, had to boil 2x, and cut salt in half. Otherwise, flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSI5US

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I have made this recipe. It started off pretty well, but when you get to the cooling part, watch out. It starts harding and it is as hard as a rock before it has cooled off. Are you supposed to strech taffy as it is burning your hands? I threw it in a pan and waited for it to cool down. It tastes very good, I give Monica that, but it looks like a hard puddle. It also took a long time to clean off. I had to soak it for a few hours and then scrub for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
What a great taste!! It was so simple to make!! It was much better than the vinegar taffy I tried. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States