Old Time Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Love these cookies they were fast and easy to whip up and make. I didn't have buttermilk so I made a my own with a cup of reg milk and a tablespoon of lemon juice and let sit for 5 to 10 mins the longer it sits the better it will be. very good tasting cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseM
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is the exact recipe I was looking for. On a recent trip to Lancaster, Pennsylvania my husband purchase a container of cookies at a Kroghers Grocery store. He says they're the best sugar cookie he's ever tasted. So with that I made it my mission to find the exact or close to recipe. This is it! One batch I made with vanilla extract and another with almond extract. Both batches I topped with sugar crystals. OH SO SOFT, CAKE LIKE AND YUMMY!! Will definitely make again and again. Perhaps with lemon extract....oh the possibilities. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used butter, skim milk, and splenda. I dropped them by tsps like the recipe said and they did not spread much. They had a good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Amazing cookies. Followed the recipe exactly. Iced them with "Shiny Cookie Icing"..adding about a 1/2 teas. of almond actract it. The only thing I'll do different next time is to make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchendoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deshler, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Taste like little cakes. We loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great recipe- but I tweaked it a little by adding some anise extract to the batter instead of the vanilla. After cooling I iced them with a simple butter icing (thinned out) and sprinkled with colored sugar- yum !! They were the first to go at Christmas time.- Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This dough was VERY hard to work with. Very sticky. Even with a bunch of flour it was hard to get them off of the spoon and onto the cookie sheet. They were soft and tasty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I have this recipe from my grandmother, who would be well over 100:) I had them as a child, my daugher loves them and now my grandkids. It wouldn't be Christmas without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Good cookie and they stayed soft. Even after being in the fridge for well over an hour the dough was still soft... and when the cookies were baked they spread out to thin and where over baked on the outer edges.. but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiediedgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Fabulous cookies!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States