Old Time Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I am surprised by the 1 star ratings. Like any candy or treat dishes it takes time and patience and a bit of strong arm stirring. Actually considering some dishes I make, this is relatively easy. That being said, they remind me of growing up. We would color them with a drop or two of food coloring for a holiday season. A huge hit! I love popcorn balls... one of my favorite treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindyminer28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantsville, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe!!! FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS and you will have great results! Will definitely be making them again...and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pameele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
loved this! the light corn syrup was a nice light flavor. i used dark corn syrup once and it tastes EXACTLY like cracker jacks. both recipes cooked to the soft crack stage?, no thermometer, i just listened for it to crackle in the ice water. not sticky, set up nicely, no problems at all with either one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. No matter how long I cooked the mixture, it never got firm. I cooked it on high until eternity and it still never got firm. I only tried this because I lost my other popcorn ball recipe. I should have read the bad reviews before attempting to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These were EXACTLY like the ones my grandma used to make. Delicious and full of wonderful memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made 2 batches of these this afternoon. They turned out wonderful. It does take patience to wait for the sugar to come to temp. Approx 1 hr cooking time. I made these at different temps. First at 280deg and the second 270deg. Needing a candy thermometer, I liked 270 better it was a little more chewy like I remember. I did not add the vinegar either time. I am taking the same recipe to make some hard candy also,minus the popcorn this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is identical to the recipe I have from my husband's grandmother. It does take "forever" to get to hardball stage, (it stayed at the same temperature for me for 15 minutes or so before it finally started to climb) but they are really good. It is hard to get them into balls without burning your hands, yet fast enough that they don't cool too much. They are chewy not crunchy, but I would guess if you want them crunchier, then cook the candy longer, like to soft crack or hard crack (280* to 305*). Yummy treats, but an investment of time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Easy enough and fun! Do be careful when creating the balls. Some of the syrup is cool enough to handle and then a hot spot finds the palm or fingers resulting in blisters. I made 23 balls with this recipe and will be making more this evening. I add color and some holiday sprinkles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I don't know what happened with this recipe but in pouring the liquid over the popcorn, the popcorn deflated before my eyes...shriveled into tiny hard kernals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe, thank you for sharing it. It brings back happy childhood memories from the 1960's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States