Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I grew up with this gravy as well. I and my mom and my mom's family came from the mountains of good 'ol KY. This recipe is the old original mountain milk gravy my mom was taught to make by her mom. My mom was a coal miners daughter living 2 coal camps down from Loretta Lynn.As a child I was always taught to keep the grease that came off the bacon back because we always used it for cooking. Green beans,biscuits,cornbread,greens,fried cabbage,ect....I don't cook with it as much now learning just how unhealthy it is for my family and myself,but now and then I do go with those yummy home cooked meals from way back. This is awesome and you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is the same recipe my mom taught me to make, best gravy for biscuits for sure. Great with some "runny" eggs, don't forget fried potatoes and grits if you really want to go over the top. This gravy is for my once a month breakfast splurge or for the days I will be duing hard work and will burn it all off. The gravy will look very runny, I was taught to turn off the burner when it bubbles and by the time you have everything else out on the table the gravy will be thickened- it must cool a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made it this morning and it didn't need nearly the liquid that the recipe calls for. I wish I had trusted my instincts instead of continuing to add the milk. It tasted great and I'll use this recipe again. Next time, I'll try about 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Same recipe I've used all my life. Crumble the bacon and add it back to the gravy. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great gravy, but this recipe has errors so I couldn't give it a 5. First, it calls for twice the milk needed and would be very runny made as stated. 2 cups is plenty, 2-1/2 if you like it thinner. Also, I have never cooked a roux longer than 3-5 minutes. The reviewer who complained of burnt bacon taste should try greatly reducing roux cooking time, and stir constantly. As a general rule for nice, thick sauces made with a roux (fried flour) you should use a ratio of 2 tbsp. fat to 2 tbsp. flour per 1 cup of liquid. Stir constantly and have patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Yes good ole southern gravy been making this as long as can remember , but it does only require 2 cups of milk unless you have a large pan of drippings and more flour needed for the extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a taste of my mother's home-made gravy....Thank you we really enjoyed it and will use this recipie again and again!I did use a littlee less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tess DeFevers Ehling
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Its two cups of milk. If you want it to serve 6 its 1/2 cup of bacon renderings and 1/2 cup flour then it will work with the 4 cups of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess DeFevers Ehling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Glorious Southern Gravy! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is thoroughly delicious. Loved it. I do agree with the reviewer who said the ratio of flour:fat:liquid is off, it is. Takes too long to cook it down thick enough. But it does eventually thicken beautifully and makes a plentiful serving, so I wouldn't say it's "wrong" exactly. It's just slower. If it tastes burnt you probably used burnt bacon grease, it's not likely that the roux cooking time had anything to do with it - roux for gumbo cooks for nearly an hour before you add liquid, and while it can burn, 15 minutes is the correct amount of time to turn the roux a caramel brown. I followed this recipe to the letter and had a superior product - you can, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States