Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I grew up with this gravy as well. I and my mom and my mom's family came from the mountains of good 'ol KY. This recipe is the old original mountain milk gravy my mom was taught to make by her mom. My mom was a coal miners daughter living 2 coal camps down from Loretta Lynn.As a child I was always taught to keep the grease that came off the bacon back because we always used it for cooking. Green beans,biscuits,cornbread,greens,fried cabbage,ect....I don't cook with it as much now learning just how unhealthy it is for my family and myself,but now and then I do go with those yummy home cooked meals from way back. This is awesome and you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is the same recipe my mom taught me to make, best gravy for biscuits for sure. Great with some "runny" eggs, don't forget fried potatoes and grits if you really want to go over the top. This gravy is for my once a month breakfast splurge or for the days I will be duing hard work and will burn it all off. The gravy will look very runny, I was taught to turn off the burner when it bubbles and by the time you have everything else out on the table the gravy will be thickened- it must cool a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made it this morning and it didn't need nearly the liquid that the recipe calls for. I wish I had trusted my instincts instead of continuing to add the milk. It tasted great and I'll use this recipe again. Next time, I'll try about 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Same recipe I've used all my life. Crumble the bacon and add it back to the gravy. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Yes good ole southern gravy been making this as long as can remember , but it does only require 2 cups of milk unless you have a large pan of drippings and more flour needed for the extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a taste of my mother's home-made gravy....Thank you we really enjoyed it and will use this recipie again and again!I did use a littlee less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Glorious Southern Gravy! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome gravy! We added a bit of shredded cheddar to it for a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BegYourPardun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was soooooo yummy and the recipe was perfect! I added crumbled bacon back to the gravy mixture and served it over biscuits and scrambled eggs! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This tasted wonderful and was so creamy! I put in 3.5 cups of milk because I like my gravy a little thicker, and it turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States