Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tess
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Its two cups of milk. If you want it to serve 6 its 1/2 cup of bacon renderings and 1/2 cup flour then it will work with the 4 cups of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have never worked with bacon drippings before, and maybe it's just that I'm not used to that flavor, but I thought the gravy smelled awful while it was cooking, and I thought it just tasted like burnt bacon (I did not burn the bacon these drippings were from). After I seasoned it generously with salt and pepper and mixed in some crumbled bacon, it was better. Together with the biscuits it was good, but I'm still not sure if I like it or not. The kids absolutely loved it, so I'll probably give it another try and see if it grows on me. I just really found the burnt bacon taste to be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome gravy! We added a bit of shredded cheddar to it for a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Love this Gravy!!! I was never able to make gravy without messing it up til this recipe. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Same recipe I've used all my life. Crumble the bacon and add it back to the gravy. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Yes good ole southern gravy been making this as long as can remember , but it does only require 2 cups of milk unless you have a large pan of drippings and more flour needed for the extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a taste of my mother's home-made gravy....Thank you we really enjoyed it and will use this recipie again and again!I did use a littlee less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Glorious Southern Gravy! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was soooooo yummy and the recipe was perfect! I added crumbled bacon back to the gravy mixture and served it over biscuits and scrambled eggs! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is the same recipe my mom taught me to make, best gravy for biscuits for sure. Great with some "runny" eggs, don't forget fried potatoes and grits if you really want to go over the top. This gravy is for my once a month breakfast splurge or for the days I will be duing hard work and will burn it all off. The gravy will look very runny, I was taught to turn off the burner when it bubbles and by the time you have everything else out on the table the gravy will be thickened- it must cool a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States