Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I think the sherry is what makes this recipe separate from just a chicken cassorle (which is also great). My husband loves it so it must be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
It was very good, but I needed to alter it slightly because the sauce was a bit bland. I added 1/2 bar of shredded monterey jack cheese, and used part romano/part parmesan cheese. I also added some cooked carrots, and served it over pasta. The sherry was a nice touch. I'll make it again, with the changes, but not too soon since it was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I usually make the quick version but decided to try this one. There definitely is a distinct difference between the two but I like both of them! The only change I made was to cut garlic bread into cubes and heat in a skillet to form toasted croutons, which I then used to top the divan before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
The real deal and worth the effort. If you note the other reviews, the ones with less than four or five stars all say that they substituted main ingredients (fried chicken?). Do us a favor and don't review if you make major alterations to a dish. Submit a new recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This is the REAL thing! Entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I used 1/2 and half instead of cream and added some garlic (2 cloves) and paprika. I also doubled the chicken and used the precooked perdue breaded cutlets. It was an OK dish but needed some extra spice. I think kids may like this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
We loved this dish, but I made modifications...I spread a layer of cooked fettucine on the bottom of the baking dish, before layering the broccoli on top, then spooned half the sauce on top of the noodles and broccoli. I baked the chicken first, seasoned with a pepper blend, cayenne pepper and onion powder, then sliced it into 1/4" slices to lay on top of the broccoli. The sauce by itself was bland, so I sauteed three cloves of minced garlic and a 1/2 cup of minced onion in cooking spray, then mixed it in with the sauce along with 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper! I replaced the heavy cream with 2% Evaporated Milk, and it was rich and creamy with very little fat! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
excellent we add waterchestnuts to ours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This recipe is really, really worth the effort. A true gourmet dish. Real food. Excellent. So-o-o-o much better than the "frozen broccoli and canned soup" divans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
This recipe is great!!! I am not a big sherry fan, so I reduced the amount of sherry by half. It turned out great. My neighbors are beginning to see the benefits of being our neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States