Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good starting point, but this just needs improvement to me. The sauce was way too thin for me, but maybe I mismeasured the broth? I would do less next time. Using a flavorful broth is also important. I added a couple dashes of nutmeg, and used white pepper and swiss cheese in the sauce for flavor. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
So good! I might double the sauce next time. Boyfriend is used to the mom's version with lots of canned cheese sauce. I don't eat cheese in a can (doesn't seem right). I was so happy to find a a recipe that can be made from scratch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very tasty. It was nice to have a casserole type dish without canned soup as an ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
i love chicken and i love broccoli. so this was right up my ally. Only thing i would change is how i cooked my broccoli. i add just salt to my water so i found the dish a little lacking on flavor, but that is a mtter of preference. next time i will feel free with my seasoning cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I melted butter and mixed in italian bread crumbs then sprinkled on top, put some cheddar cheese on top too when there was about 5 min. of cooking time left. Just my families preference. The best chicken divan ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smslomski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We had this last night and it was pretty good. The sauce seemed a little thick and it was a little bland, but for the most part we really liked it, especially the fact that the sauce wasn't from a can. Every other recipe on this site for chicken divan uses cream-of-something. We will be making this one again with a few minor adjustments (maybe another 1/3 c. broth and some garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly. I think that it's too small to require a 9 x 13 pan. Also, I'm not sure that it's really 4 servings. That aside, I didn't care for it - it might just be that I don't like Chicken Divan, I've never had it before. The boyfriend loved it, so I'm compromising with four stars =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Without garlic, this recipe is quite bland. However, with garlic added, this is most certainly a five star recipe. The sauce is so smooth and wonderful! I add two or three cloves of garlic into my sauce. I saute my chicken in olive oil first, then add it to the mix. Also, I layer a box-worth of linguini on top of the broccoli, so you end up with an entire meal in one pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was a huge hit. I kept true to the recipe and just added a topping for a little texture. To lower the fat content in the sauce I used fat-free 1/2 &1/2. For a little more flavor I sauteed a slice of onion (minced) and a clove of garlic (minced) in a little olive oil spray, and substituted 1/2t of season salt for the regular salt. For the topping I mixed together: 3T seasoned breadcrumbs, 2T french fried onions (crushed fine in a paper towel to soak up oil), 1T parmesan cheese and 1T bacon bits. Sprinkled it on top just before broiling phase and sprayed it with a little Parkay spray to help brown everything. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Five stars although of course I tweak recipes. I steam my broccoli until bright green & still al dente', I season chicken and bake on low oven temp for about an hour, cool, then pull apart in chunks. To save time, I buy one of those pre-jarred alfredo or parm cheese sauces & add to it a sm can of evap milk, extra parm & tbsp of flour wisked together prior to adding to other store bought sauce. I never have sherry so I add a splash of Worcestershire with a bit of grated nutmeg. I always use extra parm in my sauce as well, but that's a personal pref. I also add some garlic (fresh or powder) as it kicks it up a notch. Great basic recipe you can play around with! Oh, make sure Broccoli isn't real wet when assembling or sauce will be runny. Thanks for the post. Update: I prefer doing this recipe making the sauce, it's somewhat better than using the jarred sauce. Am considering getting some sherry to see what the taste difference might be in the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States