Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My husband is weird about chicken and is always worried it's undercooked so I pan seared it & sliced it before hand. One thing that I reccomend is ignoring the step about setting the cooked broccoli aside until later because it got a bit dry sitting there. Next time I'll wait until the sauce is almost done before putting the broccoli into the pot. This way I can add it into the baking pan with the sauce and chicken. Let this dish sit about 10 minutes after removing it from the oven and the sauce will thicken perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Fantastic served over white rice! I used half & half (stopped buying heavy cream about 10 lbs ago haha) and added a dash of garlic powder. My sauce got too thick very quickly, I think I had the heat too high, I turned it down added a bit more broth and it was fine. I was in a hurry and didn't bake the dish. I just layered steaming hot rice, cold chicken (leftover rotisserie), the hot sauce, fully steamed fresh broccoli and more sauce in individual bowls and covered them for a min to let the temp even out before serving. Don't skip the sherry, thats what makes this SOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Just made this. It tastes a little bland so next time, I'll definitely season the chicken and add a bit of garlic to the sauce. Also, there really is no point in boiling the broccoli beforehand. I used frozen broccoli florettes and they cooked just fine in the allotted time frame. If you boil the broccoli, you are cooking OUT all the benefits of the vegetable. Look at the lovely green water you are throwing away. That is were all the nutrients just went-the trash. Anyhow, I served with rice. Yummo with seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good starting point, but this just needs improvement to me. The sauce was way too thin for me, but maybe I mismeasured the broth? I would do less next time. Using a flavorful broth is also important. I added a couple dashes of nutmeg, and used white pepper and swiss cheese in the sauce for flavor. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
So good! I might double the sauce next time. Boyfriend is used to the mom's version with lots of canned cheese sauce. I don't eat cheese in a can (doesn't seem right). I was so happy to find a a recipe that can be made from scratch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very tasty. It was nice to have a casserole type dish without canned soup as an ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
i love chicken and i love broccoli. so this was right up my ally. Only thing i would change is how i cooked my broccoli. i add just salt to my water so i found the dish a little lacking on flavor, but that is a mtter of preference. next time i will feel free with my seasoning cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I melted butter and mixed in italian bread crumbs then sprinkled on top, put some cheddar cheese on top too when there was about 5 min. of cooking time left. Just my families preference. The best chicken divan ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smslomski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We had this last night and it was pretty good. The sauce seemed a little thick and it was a little bland, but for the most part we really liked it, especially the fact that the sauce wasn't from a can. Every other recipe on this site for chicken divan uses cream-of-something. We will be making this one again with a few minor adjustments (maybe another 1/3 c. broth and some garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly. I think that it's too small to require a 9 x 13 pan. Also, I'm not sure that it's really 4 servings. That aside, I didn't care for it - it might just be that I don't like Chicken Divan, I've never had it before. The boyfriend loved it, so I'm compromising with four stars =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States