Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made this last night and it was really good. It brought back memories of my childhood. It tasted just like I remember my mom making it. If you're use to the chicken divan recipe with the curry and the mayonaise and cream of chicken soup then this is a little bland, but it was a nice change and was really quick to put together. I just dumped a bag of frozen broccoli florets in the bottom of my pan and followed the recipe from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Mmmm! Need to double the sauce. Used whole milk. Added onion and garlic to sauce. Lots of broccoli! Linguine on bottom, then broccoli, sauce, then strips of browned chicken, then cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I made it as is. I did not change a thing! I thought it was very, very good. My sauce was a little bit runny, but the flavor was AWESOME. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very good, just needed a little more flavor to make it to 5 stars for me! Next time I think I'll add more of all the seasonings and more sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Truly delicious as well as easy. Next time, I may add a *pinch* of nutmeg to the cream sauce. I heartily recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I used three breast halves, cut each is half lengthwise, rubbed with olive oil, salt and pepper and seared in a hot skillet to give them some color before turning down the heat and letting them cook through. I took another reviewer's advice and added my broccoli raw and it took too long to cook in the oven to the correct doneness. I should have followed the recipe and boiled it before adding to the dish. Also, I used an 7"x11" dish instead of 9"x13". This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I had a recipe for turkey divan years ago, and this was the closest thing I could find that didn't use canned soup and a big glop of mayo. I used leftover T-giving turkey, and combining this recipe with what I remembered from the original, I used powdered milk (instead of heavy cream) and just enough broth to make it a fairly thick consistency. It came out almost exactly like I remember it! Bonus points for ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was my solution to leftover under cooked roast chicken and it worked quite well. I had to substitute grated cheddar for the parmesan because that was what I had on hand and I omitted the sherry since I had none. The lack of sherry left the sauce sort of bland so I added about 1/8 tsp cayenne. I realize these are significant changes, but I believe this recipe is good enough to allow the cook to improvise and still produce Chicken Divan. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
awesome, just like my grandma made. I used white wine instead of sherry and it was still delish! Also, very easy! Bake it on top of rice, steamed the brocolli. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States