Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We doubled this and still made it in a 9x13. We added corn and put a layer of spaghetti noodles under the vegetables. We put in a little curry, even more chimaya pepper (like paprika but with a small spice) and salt and pepper (light on the salt). It was very good and we'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Just like my mom used to make!!! I did steam the broccoli instead of boiling it and removed the sherry but was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a tasty dish and not complex to prepare. I made very minor changes which are as follows: To the melted butter, before adding flour, I added a few cloves of minced garlic and sauteed slightly. I did not have cream on hand and substituted whole milk- and it turned out fine. I did not have black pepper but sprinkled in some white pepper instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written, only doubling the sauce. I made it with leftover turkey and served over pasta. Creamy, rich, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
JUST WRONG!!!..I made this 3 days ago,,It is awesome,,,I cook all the time..I doubled the sauce,,put like 2 extra tbl of sherry,,,meaning doubled then 2 more,,I used a mix of mozz/chedder,,I just eyeball it..used ziploc steamer bags for brocc(easy ,,no mess)to assemble,,I put 1/2lb of cooked,aldente,penneon bottom,w/lil sauce so it coats..then brocc,,1/2 of sauce then chicken cut in cubes used more chix also.like 4 boneless breast,poured remaining sauce over,,sprinkled more cheese,and grated fresh parm..(cooked in lg roaster pan..I have to say I have been eatting leftovers everyday..I make my husband supper,,and then i have been heating up,AGAIN for me.lol..he also loved,,but just doesn,t like to have same meal for 3 days,lol!!..and pathetic as it is,,It is 9am and i am eatting the remaining..do have to admit glad its gone,,I will start to gain.lol..PS..Used fresh brocc...and put some hot sauce on my portions,,YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Excellent results-thanks for not using nasty canned soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is my favorite recipe....always makes me think of my mom. Worth the effort to make your own sauce. I always double the recipe so that there is extra left over to pour over rice. For a little bit more flavor I add a hint of nutmeg and a bit more sherry. Thanks for sharing....so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Thank you been all over looking for this exact recipe. all others have cheedar cheese I like the parm with sherry. like my mom use to make thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
this was really good and worth the extra time to make the sauce instead of using all that fakey jakey cream of whatever soup.next time i'll not steam broc as long and just cook the chicken enough to finish it off in the oven.my 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Great recipe. My picky kids even asked for seconds. This recipe tastes 10X better than the recipe made with canned soup. The only modifications that I made was to use white wine because I didn't have any sherry, steamed the brocoli, added cauliflower because I didn't have enough brocoli, added garlic powder, and used gluten-free flour. Bye bye canned soup for good. It also helped that the recipe was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
So tasty! Used cooked, sliced, deboned chicken thighs instead of the breasts as my 95 year old Dad likes dark meat better. He just about licked the casserole dish! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States