Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this. I used fat free half and half. I didnt' have sherry, but next time might add white wine, and use olive oil instead of butter. I'd made it for a potluck and transferred it to a crock pot. The broccoli got mushy, but hey it tastes so good, who cares...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this using Fat Free Half & Half and it was delicious & creamy. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Great recipe...I modified it slightly by putting a layer of stuffing at the bottom, then the broccoli, chicken and sauce on top. I poached the chicken breasts and used that stock in the recipe. I also doubled the sauce (though I didn't use it all)...just prefer it wetter as opposed to drier. Well worth the extra time...doesn't compare to the canned soup versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is great! The only change I made was I grilled my chicken, VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTLMSTR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
We loved this...I don't keep sherry around, so I substituted white wine for that. I steamed my broccoli, added some fontina cheese and freshly-grated nutmeg to the sauce and used rotisserie chicken because I had some leftover from another dish. I layered the sauce, the broccoli and the chicken over cooked brown rice and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. Very good and the leftovers went quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm going to rate this before even trying it, because I know that it's the authentic recipe I've been searching for that my roommate used to make me. While heavy substitutions also drive me nuts I'd just like to add that we always made this recipe with camembert and it was awesome--and maybe a little more "french"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Amazing! I cooked the chicken in a skillet with a bunch of spices (jambalya flavors). I did substitute evaporated milk for the cream as well as wine for the sherry. I cooked brown rice and made that the bottom layer. I had some fresh mushrooms that I thinly sliced and added to the broccoli which I sauteed in the same pan as the chicken-to get those brown bits. I did saute onions and garlic to add flavor to the sauce. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I've been making this for years, it is so good, sometimes I use half milk and half cream . I also use steamed lightly, fresh broccoli .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We doubled this and still made it in a 9x13. We added corn and put a layer of spaghetti noodles under the vegetables. We put in a little curry, even more chimaya pepper (like paprika but with a small spice) and salt and pepper (light on the salt). It was very good and we'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Just like my mom used to make!!! I did steam the broccoli instead of boiling it and removed the sherry but was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States