Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
We loved this...I don't keep sherry around, so I substituted white wine for that. I steamed my broccoli, added some fontina cheese and freshly-grated nutmeg to the sauce and used rotisserie chicken because I had some leftover from another dish. I layered the sauce, the broccoli and the chicken over cooked brown rice and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. Very good and the leftovers went quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm going to rate this before even trying it, because I know that it's the authentic recipe I've been searching for that my roommate used to make me. While heavy substitutions also drive me nuts I'd just like to add that we always made this recipe with camembert and it was awesome--and maybe a little more "french"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Amazing! I cooked the chicken in a skillet with a bunch of spices (jambalya flavors). I did substitute evaporated milk for the cream as well as wine for the sherry. I cooked brown rice and made that the bottom layer. I had some fresh mushrooms that I thinly sliced and added to the broccoli which I sauteed in the same pan as the chicken-to get those brown bits. I did saute onions and garlic to add flavor to the sauce. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I've been making this for years, it is so good, sometimes I use half milk and half cream . I also use steamed lightly, fresh broccoli .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We doubled this and still made it in a 9x13. We added corn and put a layer of spaghetti noodles under the vegetables. We put in a little curry, even more chimaya pepper (like paprika but with a small spice) and salt and pepper (light on the salt). It was very good and we'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Just like my mom used to make!!! I did steam the broccoli instead of boiling it and removed the sherry but was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a tasty dish and not complex to prepare. I made very minor changes which are as follows: To the melted butter, before adding flour, I added a few cloves of minced garlic and sauteed slightly. I did not have cream on hand and substituted whole milk- and it turned out fine. I did not have black pepper but sprinkled in some white pepper instead. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written, only doubling the sauce. I made it with leftover turkey and served over pasta. Creamy, rich, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
JUST WRONG!!!..I made this 3 days ago,,It is awesome,,,I cook all the time..I doubled the sauce,,put like 2 extra tbl of sherry,,,meaning doubled then 2 more,,I used a mix of mozz/chedder,,I just eyeball it..used ziploc steamer bags for brocc(easy ,,no mess)to assemble,,I put 1/2lb of cooked,aldente,penneon bottom,w/lil sauce so it coats..then brocc,,1/2 of sauce then chicken cut in cubes used more chix also.like 4 boneless breast,poured remaining sauce over,,sprinkled more cheese,and grated fresh parm..(cooked in lg roaster pan..I have to say I have been eatting leftovers everyday..I make my husband supper,,and then i have been heating up,AGAIN for me.lol..he also loved,,but just doesn,t like to have same meal for 3 days,lol!!..and pathetic as it is,,It is 9am and i am eatting the remaining..do have to admit glad its gone,,I will start to gain.lol..PS..Used fresh brocc...and put some hot sauce on my portions,,YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Excellent results-thanks for not using nasty canned soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookiesMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is my favorite recipe....always makes me think of my mom. Worth the effort to make your own sauce. I always double the recipe so that there is extra left over to pour over rice. For a little bit more flavor I add a hint of nutmeg and a bit more sherry. Thanks for sharing....so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States