Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
My kids' favorite meal! I make it without the sherry and it's still delicious! So much better than using cream soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Made 99% as is, but just par-steamed the broccoli for less cleanup and added a pinch of garlic powder to the sauce. Hands-down the best -- and most authentic -- chicken divan recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This a great base for this recipe and I really love that it doesn't use canned soup b/c I really hate canned soup. I made changes according to my liking. I used about 5 heads of broccoli (yeah I know its a lot of broccoli) and a 1 1/2 lbs of chicken breast. I had some leftover cooked brown rice and placed that first in a single layer at the bottom of the 9x13 pan. I then placed raw broccoli florets on top of that. I lightly cooked the chicken and placed it on top of the broccoli. I doubled the sauce. For the sauce: 1) I used Better than Bullion chicken base 2) I sauteed a butt load of garlic in butter (5-6 cloves) 3) I used about a cup of Cabernet Sauvignon b/c I didn't have any sherry or white wine. This made the dish delicious but it also made the sauce come out a not-so-appealing color. 4) I kept the amount of heavy cream at 1/2 cup 5) I kept the amount of Parmesan cheese at 1/4 cup but added 3 thick slices of muenster cheese b/c this is all the cheese I had on hand. I cooked it at 350 for about an hour. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly as written and we all loved it. Served with biscuits not much work involved,and without canned anything soup it is simply the best. Will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Unfortunately, this recipe was just okay for us. The only change I made was to saute some garlic & onions while cooking the chicken strips. The dish was still bland to us. Not bad by any means and certainly edible but lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
So much better than using canned soup. I used a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket and this was delicious. We all over it. Made it several hours ahead and just finished before eating. Will definitely do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
My family has been making this chicken divan variation for many years. We serve it over rice. Thanks for posting it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanrod
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Excellent recipe. So tasty, even the picky boys loved it. I used white wine instead of sherry and added a little bit of mozzarella and Italian bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Ebbert McMahon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Doubled sauce ingredients except for chicken broth. (Used 3 cups vs. 4). Otherwise, followed recipe, and everyone loved it. Yes, its rich, but it is supposed to be! Yummmss. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States