Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
The real deal and worth the effort. If you note the other reviews, the ones with less than four or five stars all say that they substituted main ingredients (fried chicken?). Do us a favor and don't review if you make major alterations to a dish. Submit a new recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is basically the same recipe I have used for 15+ years. I use dry white wine instead of sherry. Brown the breasts in a little oil first. Dont parboil the broccoli, it cooks in the oven.. Sprinkle more cheese on top to brown. The real dish, no canned soup slop. Serve with glazed carrots, green salad and garlic bread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
We loved this dish, but I made modifications...I spread a layer of cooked fettucine on the bottom of the baking dish, before layering the broccoli on top, then spooned half the sauce on top of the noodles and broccoli. I baked the chicken first, seasoned with a pepper blend, cayenne pepper and onion powder, then sliced it into 1/4" slices to lay on top of the broccoli. The sauce by itself was bland, so I sauteed three cloves of minced garlic and a 1/2 cup of minced onion in cooking spray, then mixed it in with the sauce along with 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper! I replaced the heavy cream with 2% Evaporated Milk, and it was rich and creamy with very little fat! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Absolutely the way chicken divan should taste. If you don't LOVE this recipie you don't like chicken divan. Canned soup can't compare to a true cream sauce. Thanks for sharing a classic in a sea of shortcuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
This is a great recipe; delicious and not really that much work. Caution, if you use Campbell's chicken broth you won't need the extra salt! Next time I will use either low-salt or homemade broth. Both my husband and 4-yr. old give this one 2 thumbs up! -Marty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
I used 1/2 and half instead of cream and added some garlic (2 cloves) and paprika. I also doubled the chicken and used the precooked perdue breaded cutlets. It was an OK dish but needed some extra spice. I think kids may like this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very good alternative to canned(MSG) soup style divan. On the bottom of my casserole dish, I put some minute white rice and (uncooked) and chicken broth to cook it.Then layered according to the recipe.I sauted my chicken in butter and garlic. I added some red pepper to the sauce. I also used peas instead of broccoli(didn't have any) and half and half instead of heavy cream. I put shredded Mexican style cheese blend on top. It was delicious!!Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
So much better than cream soup version of chicken divan. Worth the extra effort. I substitute 1 cup shredded cheddar for the parm. - just my family's preferrance. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This recipe is really, really worth the effort. A true gourmet dish. Real food. Excellent. So-o-o-o much better than the "frozen broccoli and canned soup" divans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This is the REAL thing! Entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States