Old Time Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Five stars although of course I tweak recipes. I steam my broccoli until bright green & still al dente', I season chicken and bake on low oven temp for about an hour, cool, then pull apart in chunks. To save time, I buy one of those pre-jarred alfredo or parm cheese sauces & add to it a sm can of evap milk, extra parm & tbsp of flour wisked together prior to adding to other store bought sauce. I never have sherry so I add a splash of Worcestershire with a bit of grated nutmeg. I always use extra parm in my sauce as well, but that's a personal pref. I also add some garlic (fresh or powder) as it kicks it up a notch. Great basic recipe you can play around with! Oh, make sure Broccoli isn't real wet when assembling or sauce will be runny. Thanks for the post. Update: I prefer doing this recipe making the sauce, it's somewhat better than using the jarred sauce. Am considering getting some sherry to see what the taste difference might be in the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
The sauce in this recipe is to die for. It sounds rich but it is actually quite light tasting. The sherry really adds a wonderful flavor. I think this would be great served over rice or pasta, but it was excellent on its own. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very good alternative to canned(MSG) soup style divan. On the bottom of my casserole dish, I put some minute white rice and (uncooked) and chicken broth to cook it.Then layered according to the recipe.I sauted my chicken in butter and garlic. I added some red pepper to the sauce. I also used peas instead of broccoli(didn't have any) and half and half instead of heavy cream. I put shredded Mexican style cheese blend on top. It was delicious!!Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is basically the same recipe I have used for 15+ years. I use dry white wine instead of sherry. Brown the breasts in a little oil first. Dont parboil the broccoli, it cooks in the oven.. Sprinkle more cheese on top to brown. The real dish, no canned soup slop. Serve with glazed carrots, green salad and garlic bread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is wonderful. Followed the recipe as is but substituted half and half for heavy cream. So much better than any "add a can of soup" type casserole. Tastes light and fresh and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This dish was wonderful! I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand, with a few minor modifications (cooked dark meat instead of breasts, frozen broccoli instead of fresh). I accidentally added the Parmesan cheese to the entire saucepan of sauce, then poured it all over the top of the chicken at the end. It was AMAZING! Didn't add extra garlic or spices (which is rare for me) and it still had a wonderful taste! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Absolutely the way chicken divan should taste. If you don't LOVE this recipie you don't like chicken divan. Canned soup can't compare to a true cream sauce. Thanks for sharing a classic in a sea of shortcuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was a terrific base recipe and definitely not difficult or time-consuming. I pounded my breasts (the chicken that is!) just to even them out and salted, peppered and lightly floured them before I browned them in hot olive oil, then allowed them to rest and then sliced them. I also added one finely chopped shallot in with the butter. It was definitely heavenly. I will make this one again. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
So much better than cream soup version of chicken divan. Worth the extra effort. I substitute 1 cup shredded cheddar for the parm. - just my family's preferrance. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Easy recipe... I used leftover turkey and turned out great. I think I used too much turkey so I was alittle short on sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States