Old Southern Chocolate Pecan Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I didn't change a single thing and it was fabulous! Light & fluffy texture, with dark DARK chocolatey goodness. Sooooo Yummmmy! I no longer shall rely on boxes. This was soooo easy and sooooo gooood! It was HUGE! It fluffed up way over the 9X13 pan! Marvelous! Didn't even wait til it was cool to dig in & cake stayed high and proud. This will be my new go-to favorite choc cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This cake was simply fabulous. I made it for a family dinner and there wasn't a piece left and I was passing out recipes for this cake left and right. I just don't understand people who call desserts too sweet - desserts are sweet! I used real butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From The Land Of Shee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Leave it to the south to come up with cavity sweet, but crowd pleasing desserts! This is the poster recipe for that genre. Delicious! I did change the recipe, but only to fit my pantry. Here's what I did. Instead of 1 cup water, I replaced it with a cup of strong black coffee. Then I used all butter instead of shortening and margarine. I melted the butter in the coffee with 3 ounces of bitter chocolate instead of cocoa. Next for the liquid ingredients, I substituted plain yogurt for the buttermilk. Now for the icing: I once again replaced the cocoa with 3 ounces of bitter chocolate which I melted with the butter before adding the confectioners sugar. I cut the confectioners sugar down to 3 cups and used sour cream instead of milk. Finally, I toasted the pecans and spread them on half of the warm cake. That way I could offer the non-nut (blasphemy) side to those who do not like nuts. Then poured the hot icing over all. This cake is too die for! Or at least to blow your diet for!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the direction to a tee also. We get together on Monday evenings with friends and play cards. We all take turns making some sort of snack/eats and a dessert. I brought this cake up for everyone to try and they Loved it. I also had my fair share. This cake will definitely take care of a sweet tooth! I am going to bake another for this Memorial weekend. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!! Glen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morocco, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Spalding
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is a fun recipe. The best part is pouring the chocolate pecan topping over the cake and watching it ooze into it. I used whole wheat flour and the cake itself was very heavy. Moist, but heavy. Was it the flour? I do know that everyone liked the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It's amazing almost as good as earthquake cake!! I made it with my mom-Leo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made this cake yesterday and it's s excellent. Used a large kitchen spoon to mix it, didn't even have to take mixer out. I must say I found the cake to be heavy and dense. The kind that just sticks to the roof of your youth. The frosting was easy and quick and that was good too. Really the gooey kind that just runs all over the cake. Guess you can tell by now, WE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious! It was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States