Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Nothing says "comfort food" quite like mac & cheese. This recipe was simple, has a great flavor and was enjoyed by my whole family. I didn't have potato chips on hand so I topped it with some crushed crackers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The best homemade mac n cheese I have had in years!!! The only changes I made were I used velvetta instead of American and crushed Ritz crackers on top instead of potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
My Recipe:1/8 tea each-cayenne pepper, mustard powder, onion powder. 1 tea worcestershire(thick works too), 2 cups milk, 16 slices of american, 8 oz. medium cheddar, 2 oz. sharp cheddar, 2 tbl butter, 5-6 cups elbow, 2 1/2 tbl flour. didn't have flour so I substituted 1 with 1 1/4 tbl cornstarch. salt and pepper to taste. It was a large pot unbaked and easy to make very quick. I made in a large pot butter and flour first then milk and other seasonings, brought to simmer. Added my cheddars till melted then my slices of american (cheese food). Very good and creamy with that rich cheese color to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Had this for dinner tonight. It's DEFINITELY a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly. It fills up a 9 x 13 pan FULL. It was SOO good and creamy. One of my daughters thought it was a bit too spicy with the cayenne but the rest of us loved it. I MAY (for my daughter) only use 1/2 the cayenne next time. Also, I won't leave it in the oven as long next time. I will pull it out after 20 mins and let it set for about 5 mins. Thanks for a YUMMY recipe! Comfort Food Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe. I'm not a very good cook but I nailed this recipe. My boyfriend LOVES it! I did do a few things differently. I used processed american cheese, added 1 chicken breast (cut into very small pieces, cooked and seasoned), almost doubled the seasonings and used ritz crackers instead of chips. I cooked the pasta all the way and only put it in the oven for 10 minutes for the cheese to melt and the crackers to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
My husband suprised me with this dish after a long day of work and this mac-n-cheese totally blew me away. D-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv26.2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at a homemade mac and cheese so I wasn't sure what reaction I would get from the family. RAVE reviews from all, this will now be on a monthly rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. I left the chips off and added a little extra Parmesan cheese for an awesome crust. I also added boneless chicken breast and shrimp, yes, at the same time. It is really delicious. I used boneless chicken breast that I boiled in water. Then I placed them on a cutting board and used a masher (like for potatoes) to mash and "shred" them. Set aside. Then I used raw (uncooked) shrimp and peel them completely, including tails. Shrimp size is up to you. Mix in the chicken and shrimp (raw) when you combine the macaroni and cheese sauce. The shrimp will cook in the oven. Enjoy, it is an impressive meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good recipe. I added bacon bits to give it a good flavor. Also, you can use american cheese slices. They melt up just fine as long as you melt only a few at a time. This makes two 9x13 dishes. It feeds a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This might be my new favorite macaroni and cheese recipe! I added 1/4 cup of onions to the recipe when I was melting the butter. Next time, I'll scale down the cayenne. It was so good, but a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States