Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Nothing says "comfort food" quite like mac & cheese. This recipe was simple, has a great flavor and was enjoyed by my whole family. I didn't have potato chips on hand so I topped it with some crushed crackers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe. I'm not a very good cook but I nailed this recipe. My boyfriend LOVES it! I did do a few things differently. I used processed american cheese, added 1 chicken breast (cut into very small pieces, cooked and seasoned), almost doubled the seasonings and used ritz crackers instead of chips. I cooked the pasta all the way and only put it in the oven for 10 minutes for the cheese to melt and the crackers to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. I left the chips off and added a little extra Parmesan cheese for an awesome crust. I also added boneless chicken breast and shrimp, yes, at the same time. It is really delicious. I used boneless chicken breast that I boiled in water. Then I placed them on a cutting board and used a masher (like for potatoes) to mash and "shred" them. Set aside. Then I used raw (uncooked) shrimp and peel them completely, including tails. Shrimp size is up to you. Mix in the chicken and shrimp (raw) when you combine the macaroni and cheese sauce. The shrimp will cook in the oven. Enjoy, it is an impressive meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as posted here. My biggest problem with this recipe is that it is bland. I believe Mac N Cheese needs to have a sharp cheddar bite, even if it's only like Stouffers. I would try to use all sharp cheddar, maybe add Parmesan or Asiago and lose the milk or most of it but consider using the liquid from the boiled pasta. Lastly, the potato chip topping was good but you'd better eat all of it right out of the oven. If you don't and then put the leftovers covered in the fridge for a day and then reheat. I thought twice about this too when first making this recipe. Have you ever put a potato chip in the refrigerator and eaten it the next day? Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I've tried several different mac n' cheese recipes and this one I LOVE! Three reasons: 1. It has a little zip to it with the cheyenne pepper (don't cut back on the amount - even though it seems like a lot) 2. It makes 2 9x13 pans, so I can freeze one for another night. 3. It has flavor. The only thing I did differently was add cubed up pre-cooked ham right before adding the cheese mixture. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious! I used the cheese I had on hand (Italian blend plus some cheddar and american - it was tasty). Though I forgot to add the worcestershire sauce, the cayenne pepper gave it some delicious zip. I added crumbled crispy bacon to the topping. It is the best mac and cheese I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Halved the recipe to make one 9X13 in pan. Very good, but will use more cheddar than American cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
A friend of mine made this and it's AMAZING! Since he changed a few things I'll post them here for my own notes as much as anything. I sure the original is equally as awesome. Instead of onion powder and mustard powder I used Basil and Oregano.  I used chilli powder instead of Cayenne.  I also used Mozzarella instead of American Cheese and added about 8-12 oz of Six cheese Italian blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at a homemade mac and cheese so I wasn't sure what reaction I would get from the family. RAVE reviews from all, this will now be on a monthly rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The best homemade mac n cheese I have had in years!!! The only changes I made were I used velvetta instead of American and crushed Ritz crackers on top instead of potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States