Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Fantastic! We added spinach to make a bit healthier, and the kids loved it. We also did crackers instead of potato chips, and we substituted basil & oregano instead of onion power & mustard power. We'll definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
The recipe calls for Worcestershire sauce but doesn't mention it in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Sooo great! I made it last night for dinner. My friends were minutes away from devouring the entire pan. I added a few things here and there according to my own personal tastes. My only question is where does the worcestershire sauce come in? Did I miss it in the instructions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
A friend of mine made this and it's AMAZING! Since he changed a few things I'll post them here for my own notes as much as anything. I sure the original is equally as awesome. Instead of onion powder and mustard powder I used Basil and Oregano.  I used chilli powder instead of Cayenne.  I also used Mozzarella instead of American Cheese and added about 8-12 oz of Six cheese Italian blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I've tried several different mac n' cheese recipes and this one I LOVE! Three reasons: 1. It has a little zip to it with the cheyenne pepper (don't cut back on the amount - even though it seems like a lot) 2. It makes 2 9x13 pans, so I can freeze one for another night. 3. It has flavor. The only thing I did differently was add cubed up pre-cooked ham right before adding the cheese mixture. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Wow! The ultimate comfort food! I did not have some of the ingredients & used Italian bread crumbs for the topping & subbed non fat milk. Rich & creamy. The mac n cheese of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is great, and pretty easy. I added a little applewood smoked gruyere and used white cheddar. I don't think I cooked my roux long enough though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This might be my new favorite macaroni and cheese recipe! I added 1/4 cup of onions to the recipe when I was melting the butter. Next time, I'll scale down the cayenne. It was so good, but a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good recipe. I added bacon bits to give it a good flavor. Also, you can use american cheese slices. They melt up just fine as long as you melt only a few at a time. This makes two 9x13 dishes. It feeds a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. I left the chips off and added a little extra Parmesan cheese for an awesome crust. I also added boneless chicken breast and shrimp, yes, at the same time. It is really delicious. I used boneless chicken breast that I boiled in water. Then I placed them on a cutting board and used a masher (like for potatoes) to mash and "shred" them. Set aside. Then I used raw (uncooked) shrimp and peel them completely, including tails. Shrimp size is up to you. Mix in the chicken and shrimp (raw) when you combine the macaroni and cheese sauce. The shrimp will cook in the oven. Enjoy, it is an impressive meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States