Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I fixed this today for a Super Bowel dish. It came out great!! I didn't have a few items so I did substitute a few. First , I recalculated for 10 people instead of 20. I did not have worchestersauce so I left it out. I also was out of all purpose flour , but I did have a box of downy cake flour and used it instead . My cheeses were velveeta & colby. I didn't have potato chips to crush on top , so I topped with tiny shreds of cheddar cheese. I put in a preheated oven for 30 minutes. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
The flavor was good but mine turned out a little bit too dry. I made this last night but after reading reviews & other recipes I did make just a few changes. I do not like American cheese so I used all cheddar and Colby cheese. I replaced like amount of milk with 1 can of evaporated milk and added a little garlic powder and doubled the mustard powder or to taste. I read another recipe where they incorporated a beaten egg into 1 cup of the sauce mix when it was done cooking and then incorporated that mixture back into the entire pan of sauce. Mine was done at about 20 minutes. The potato chip and cheese topping was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
The family loved it. I used about half a Mexican cheese blend and 1/2 sharp cheddar. I don't think I'd have liked it with American. But I liked the spices and flavors in this, just wish it were a little bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was super Yummy! Very creamy with good seasoning! I didn't have the Mustard Powder but that was okay because it came out great anyways! Instead of the crushed chips I got a loaf of Italian bread and cut that into bite size pieces. I cooked the Macaroni in the oven without the bread on top for 10 minutes than I took it out and put the bread on top and cooked it for 10-15 minutes. I took it out once I saw the cheese bubbling. My husband and I really loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I liked the dry mustard & spices, but Worcestershire sauce has a sweet flavor that I didn't care for. Sorry, but this was neither old fashioned or anything I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
WAY too time-consuming. I'd never make this huge of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I make it with only sharp cheddar and the family loves it. I really think its even better the next day when all the flavors have combined. Kids and friends always are asking for it. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was amazing! And so easy. I followed the recipe exactly, however next time I'll probably put less cayenne pepper, or omit it completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I got many compliments from my friends for this Mac 'N Cheese! Highly recommend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as written. Was delicious. We loved the topping. I was baking it from cold so added 20 mins on baking time. It got juat a little dry (but still delicious). Will be making it again at 35- 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States