Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
The only thing different I did was added cooked Applewood smoked bacon, cut up and instead of using regular cheddar cheese I went with smoked cheddar cheese. I omitted the cayenne pepper and just used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Very easy to make. Took one pan to a party, should have brought both. It disappeared within minutes. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Great starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I threw in some cooked chicken breasts and steamed broccoli to make it more of a casserole. and by the way, it makes a ton! so it's great to freeze for later lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larisa Beck-Levy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, but halved it for one 9x13 casserole. The recipe was not as creamy as I anticipated it would be. The seasoning was good. For my family, I will use half the amount of cayenne next time. To add creaminess, I might add some half and half to the cheese mixture right before stirring in the macaroni. The best part of this dish was the amazing topping. So, yummy! I will make this dish again, and will try some variances to achieve a creamier consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was really yummy it makes a lot so we put some in a different container and put it in the freezer. I used Panko bread crumbs instead of chips for the top. I think next time I would add cut up cooked bacon the next time. But it was very tasty it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it is. PERFECT! The mac to cheese ratio is just right. There is no need to add much salt if you top with the potato chip & cheese mixture. This was a big hit with my entire family, which includes 3 teenaged boys. My family likes spicy food, so I will add diced jalapenos to one of the pans, just to kick it up a notch, but I will leave one pan with the original recipe. Thanks for sharing such a hearty, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
First time making Mac and cheese as I grew up not liking it. Cut back on cayenne pepper and used a cheddar , Colby and Monterey Jack mix. Also used 1/2 ritz/pantko bread crumb mixture with some fresh parmigiana and smoked paprika. 2 helpings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
these were great one of the best tasting and the texture was fabulous will make this for guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great recipe, nice heat to it. I added bacon n some of its grease to the milk/flour/cheese mix. Just cooked bacon in a pan like normal n crumbled it. I didn't have enough cheddar so along w it I used a fiesta blend. My hunny n I liked it n will b cooking it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States