Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe. I'm not a very good cook but I nailed this recipe. My boyfriend LOVES it! I did do a few things differently. I used processed american cheese, added 1 chicken breast (cut into very small pieces, cooked and seasoned), almost doubled the seasonings and used ritz crackers instead of chips. I cooked the pasta all the way and only put it in the oven for 10 minutes for the cheese to melt and the crackers to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at a homemade mac and cheese so I wasn't sure what reaction I would get from the family. RAVE reviews from all, this will now be on a monthly rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Wow! The ultimate comfort food! I did not have some of the ingredients & used Italian bread crumbs for the topping & subbed non fat milk. Rich & creamy. The mac n cheese of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good recipe. I added bacon bits to give it a good flavor. Also, you can use american cheese slices. They melt up just fine as long as you melt only a few at a time. This makes two 9x13 dishes. It feeds a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This might be my new favorite macaroni and cheese recipe! I added 1/4 cup of onions to the recipe when I was melting the butter. Next time, I'll scale down the cayenne. It was so good, but a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I've tried several different mac n' cheese recipes and this one I LOVE! Three reasons: 1. It has a little zip to it with the cheyenne pepper (don't cut back on the amount - even though it seems like a lot) 2. It makes 2 9x13 pans, so I can freeze one for another night. 3. It has flavor. The only thing I did differently was add cubed up pre-cooked ham right before adding the cheese mixture. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Had this for dinner tonight. It's DEFINITELY a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly. It fills up a 9 x 13 pan FULL. It was SOO good and creamy. One of my daughters thought it was a bit too spicy with the cayenne but the rest of us loved it. I MAY (for my daughter) only use 1/2 the cayenne next time. Also, I won't leave it in the oven as long next time. I will pull it out after 20 mins and let it set for about 5 mins. Thanks for a YUMMY recipe! Comfort Food Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
My husband suprised me with this dish after a long day of work and this mac-n-cheese totally blew me away. D-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv26.2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. I left the chips off and added a little extra Parmesan cheese for an awesome crust. I also added boneless chicken breast and shrimp, yes, at the same time. It is really delicious. I used boneless chicken breast that I boiled in water. Then I placed them on a cutting board and used a masher (like for potatoes) to mash and "shred" them. Set aside. Then I used raw (uncooked) shrimp and peel them completely, including tails. Shrimp size is up to you. Mix in the chicken and shrimp (raw) when you combine the macaroni and cheese sauce. The shrimp will cook in the oven. Enjoy, it is an impressive meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is great, and pretty easy. I added a little applewood smoked gruyere and used white cheddar. I don't think I cooked my roux long enough though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States