Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I've made the recipe "as is" and then changed it the 2nd time I made it. I would only use Sharp Cheddar now in place of the cheddar cheese. It gives more flavor, bite to the cheese. American is fine, and Parmesan adds a nice zip. The seasonings, as stated, are a MUST! Especially the mustard powder. Without the correct seasonings, this recipe would be bland...so please use the seasonings and taste as you go to see if more is required. Also, if it still turns out bland, then your seasonings are too old!! Buy new spices at least every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Sounds fantastic,but, unfortunately it is not in the heart healthy category! There must be lots of alternatives that taste just as good without all the fat? Keep up the good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made this several times already, but Raves still go on!! Family LOVES this recipe!! Only change I needed to make was to eliminate the cayenne..just for the "fam's" personal preference. It's creamy & delicious as is..but I like to throw in abt. 1/3 cup of sour cream..just to creamy it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I got rave reviews from my husband and guests. I used monteray jack and a taco cheese blend because thats what I had on hand. Tasted great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Halved the recipe to make one 9X13 in pan. Very good, but will use more cheddar than American cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as posted here. My biggest problem with this recipe is that it is bland. I believe Mac N Cheese needs to have a sharp cheddar bite, even if it's only like Stouffers. I would try to use all sharp cheddar, maybe add Parmesan or Asiago and lose the milk or most of it but consider using the liquid from the boiled pasta. Lastly, the potato chip topping was good but you'd better eat all of it right out of the oven. If you don't and then put the leftovers covered in the fridge for a day and then reheat. I thought twice about this too when first making this recipe. Have you ever put a potato chip in the refrigerator and eaten it the next day? Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious! I used the cheese I had on hand (Italian blend plus some cheddar and american - it was tasty). Though I forgot to add the worcestershire sauce, the cayenne pepper gave it some delicious zip. I added crumbled crispy bacon to the topping. It is the best mac and cheese I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Fantastic! We added spinach to make a bit healthier, and the kids loved it. We also did crackers instead of potato chips, and we substituted basil & oregano instead of onion power & mustard power. We'll definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
The recipe calls for Worcestershire sauce but doesn't mention it in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Sooo great! I made it last night for dinner. My friends were minutes away from devouring the entire pan. I added a few things here and there according to my own personal tastes. My only question is where does the worcestershire sauce come in? Did I miss it in the instructions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States