Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I got rave reviews from my husband and guests. I used monteray jack and a taco cheese blend because thats what I had on hand. Tasted great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Halved the recipe to make one 9X13 in pan. Very good, but will use more cheddar than American cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this exactly as posted here. My biggest problem with this recipe is that it is bland. I believe Mac N Cheese needs to have a sharp cheddar bite, even if it's only like Stouffers. I would try to use all sharp cheddar, maybe add Parmesan or Asiago and lose the milk or most of it but consider using the liquid from the boiled pasta. Lastly, the potato chip topping was good but you'd better eat all of it right out of the oven. If you don't and then put the leftovers covered in the fridge for a day and then reheat. I thought twice about this too when first making this recipe. Have you ever put a potato chip in the refrigerator and eaten it the next day? Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious! I used the cheese I had on hand (Italian blend plus some cheddar and american - it was tasty). Though I forgot to add the worcestershire sauce, the cayenne pepper gave it some delicious zip. I added crumbled crispy bacon to the topping. It is the best mac and cheese I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Fantastic! We added spinach to make a bit healthier, and the kids loved it. We also did crackers instead of potato chips, and we substituted basil & oregano instead of onion power & mustard power. We'll definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
The recipe calls for Worcestershire sauce but doesn't mention it in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Sooo great! I made it last night for dinner. My friends were minutes away from devouring the entire pan. I added a few things here and there according to my own personal tastes. My only question is where does the worcestershire sauce come in? Did I miss it in the instructions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
A friend of mine made this and it's AMAZING! Since he changed a few things I'll post them here for my own notes as much as anything. I sure the original is equally as awesome. Instead of onion powder and mustard powder I used Basil and Oregano.  I used chilli powder instead of Cayenne.  I also used Mozzarella instead of American Cheese and added about 8-12 oz of Six cheese Italian blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I've tried several different mac n' cheese recipes and this one I LOVE! Three reasons: 1. It has a little zip to it with the cheyenne pepper (don't cut back on the amount - even though it seems like a lot) 2. It makes 2 9x13 pans, so I can freeze one for another night. 3. It has flavor. The only thing I did differently was add cubed up pre-cooked ham right before adding the cheese mixture. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Wow! The ultimate comfort food! I did not have some of the ingredients & used Italian bread crumbs for the topping & subbed non fat milk. Rich & creamy. The mac n cheese of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States