Old School Mac n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
First time making Mac and cheese as I grew up not liking it. Cut back on cayenne pepper and used a cheddar , Colby and Monterey Jack mix. Also used 1/2 ritz/pantko bread crumb mixture with some fresh parmigiana and smoked paprika. 2 helpings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
these were great one of the best tasting and the texture was fabulous will make this for guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great recipe, nice heat to it. I added bacon n some of its grease to the milk/flour/cheese mix. Just cooked bacon in a pan like normal n crumbled it. I didn't have enough cheddar so along w it I used a fiesta blend. My hunny n I liked it n will b cooking it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Perfection! I've been hunting this recipes for years! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
There are two reasons I am rating this 4/5. First, it was a TON of work. 2nd, I'm more of a fan of the dryer mac and cheese recipes. I took it to a potluck and everyone was raving about how much they loved it, the flavor and the recipe itself is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stepharoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Yum! Loved this dish! Skipped the potato chips and was really pleased with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I fixed this today for a Super Bowel dish. It came out great!! I didn't have a few items so I did substitute a few. First , I recalculated for 10 people instead of 20. I did not have worchestersauce so I left it out. I also was out of all purpose flour , but I did have a box of downy cake flour and used it instead . My cheeses were velveeta & colby. I didn't have potato chips to crush on top , so I topped with tiny shreds of cheddar cheese. I put in a preheated oven for 30 minutes. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
The flavor was good but mine turned out a little bit too dry. I made this last night but after reading reviews & other recipes I did make just a few changes. I do not like American cheese so I used all cheddar and Colby cheese. I replaced like amount of milk with 1 can of evaporated milk and added a little garlic powder and doubled the mustard powder or to taste. I read another recipe where they incorporated a beaten egg into 1 cup of the sauce mix when it was done cooking and then incorporated that mixture back into the entire pan of sauce. Mine was done at about 20 minutes. The potato chip and cheese topping was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
The family loved it. I used about half a Mexican cheese blend and 1/2 sharp cheddar. I don't think I'd have liked it with American. But I liked the spices and flavors in this, just wish it were a little bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was super Yummy! Very creamy with good seasoning! I didn't have the Mustard Powder but that was okay because it came out great anyways! Instead of the crushed chips I got a loaf of Italian bread and cut that into bite size pieces. I cooked the Macaroni in the oven without the bread on top for 10 minutes than I took it out and put the bread on top and cooked it for 10-15 minutes. I took it out once I saw the cheese bubbling. My husband and I really loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States