Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
These are extremely tasty. I made them with butter instead of shortening (therefore getting rid of trans-fats) and they were excellent. I made the whole recipe, and then froze the left-over rolls. Pop the frozen rolls in the oven for a few minutes, and they taste fresh baked! This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I have won blue ribbons for my yeast breads and have never made anything that even came close to as good as these turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
My whole family loved these rolls. I used a smaller pan though and tried putting some in muffin tins. They worked nicely too, but I should have used bigger pieces of dough in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wonderful rolls! I've made this recipe twice now and each time the rolls came out just great. I had to use a bit more flour but I really think that had to do with the weather on the days I made them. Really a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the slightly-cooled scalded milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the cooled water, shortening, egg, and then gradually added the dry ingredients. I did need just bit more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook, almost another full cup. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right. I ate one right out of the oven and I have to say, I'm not a fan so far. This is not my favorite roll recipe. It was a slow riser and kind of a cranky dough to work with. The rolls have a consistancy of beer bread, which is fine and dandy if that's what you're making, but that's not what I was expecting. Plus, there's almost NO flavor in these rolls at all, aside from salt. I think if I'd used melted butter instead of shortening, I think the outcome would be more favorable. Even brushing them with butter didn't make much of a change. I'm really disappointed. I'm sure these rolls were fabulous for others but not for me. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I LOVE the old home style taste! I have been searching for a good old fashioned roll and have finally found it! I will be making these forever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I loved these rolls. I have made many different recipes and this one works out best. I use almost 1 1/4 cup less flour though. I found it got to flaky if I added all the flour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNF45

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I've been looking for a really good roll recipe and I found it. The first time I made them they turned out great. My family loved them, but we're used to a little bigger roll. The second time around I made 16 instead of the 24 and substituted a little whole wheat flour. They turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Very, very good! I made them for a Thanksgiving celebration with friends and everyone raved over them. If they were a touch sweeter, they'd be everything I ever dreamed of in a roll. I divided mine into 18 portions (because someone said that 24 were very small) and they ended up being bigger than I anticipated. Next time I'll make 24 like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
They were good rolls, but my kids (4 of them)really didn't gobble them up as I had hoped they would. I am still going to look for that recipe that tastes like my grandma's did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States