Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I LOVE the old home style taste! I have been searching for a good old fashioned roll and have finally found it! I will be making these forever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
My whole family loved these rolls. I used a smaller pan though and tried putting some in muffin tins. They worked nicely too, but I should have used bigger pieces of dough in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
They were good rolls, but my kids (4 of them)really didn't gobble them up as I had hoped they would. I am still going to look for that recipe that tastes like my grandma's did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wonderful rolls! I've made this recipe twice now and each time the rolls came out just great. I had to use a bit more flour but I really think that had to do with the weather on the days I made them. Really a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
These are good basic rolls. They were not quite as fluffy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I've been looking for a really good roll recipe and I found it. The first time I made them they turned out great. My family loved them, but we're used to a little bigger roll. The second time around I made 16 instead of the 24 and substituted a little whole wheat flour. They turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
The rolls had a good flavor, but they were a little to dense for my taste. thanks, but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is a wonderful roll recipe that was extremly easy to prepare. I prepared this for Thankgsgiving Day and these rolls were a raving hit! I followed the recipe to a T except I covered with clingy plastic wrap instead of damp cloth during the risings. They came out perfect! Thanks Grannyrob for sharing your scrumptious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYINABASKET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I made homemade yeast rolls for the very first time and it was very easy and Awesome. I will never buy store bought again if I have the time to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made 1/2 recipe for Thanksgiving and used my bread machine to mix and knead the dough. Just dumped all the ingredients into the pan and turned it on. I then baked them in the oven at 350% for 8-10 minutes. This made 12 rolls. The rolls were soft and flavorful with a wonderful taste and texture. This is the recipe that I've been searching for. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States