Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This bread has a somewhat biscuit texture to it. My husband and I love using it for eggs on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used whole wheat flour in place of 3 cups of the flour. I also added 1/2 c of flax... the rest, I used white flour. I also replaced the milk with almond milk, and the shortening with olive oil. They were thick, yummy & quite tasty. I served 8, and they were gone by the end of dinner... I make these once a week and only cook them 10 minutes.I freeze the 24, taking out 1 for each person and thaw, heating them at 350 for about 8 minutes before dinner. They go really well with soups, or split in half with jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent and easy! I used butter instead of shortening, and upped the salt to 2 tsp. After baking I brushed w/melted butter to make them even yummier. This will be a standard for many meals from now on. Many raves from family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These rolls were very bland, and despite the sugar and yeast, didn't taste of either. I'll stick with my own recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Thank you very much for this recipe, I made a batch divided and made with half of the recipe sticky buns with a topping of some melted cream cheese and confectionarssugar, they were a treat just like the rolls. Will make lots more of delicious things with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geertruidenberg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I've only made yeast rolls a few times, but this recipe definitely makes the best rolls I've ever had. This will be the recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misanthrope
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Love these rolls. I make them on a regular basis and freeze large batches. I make large rolls and slice them in half for hamburgers, I make smaller rolls to eat with lunch and soups. A versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misanthrope

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
The rolls had a nice look to them but that's about it. They were very bland to me, even when I put butter on top while they were cooling. Next time I think I'll use less flour and put some cinnamon and a little more sugar to give it some kind of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Crockett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Very good rolls, but didn't have the yeast taste I was wanting. It was still very very good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This recipe was my first successful attempt at making bread by hand. I used butter instead of shortening and it could be why, but I found the buns to be very flavorless, even buttered. Very easy to make but taste like they are missing something to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States