Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This bread has a somewhat biscuit texture to it. My husband and I love using it for eggs on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used whole wheat flour in place of 3 cups of the flour. I also added 1/2 c of flax... the rest, I used white flour. I also replaced the milk with almond milk, and the shortening with olive oil. They were thick, yummy & quite tasty. I served 8, and they were gone by the end of dinner... I make these once a week and only cook them 10 minutes.I freeze the 24, taking out 1 for each person and thaw, heating them at 350 for about 8 minutes before dinner. They go really well with soups, or split in half with jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent and easy! I used butter instead of shortening, and upped the salt to 2 tsp. After baking I brushed w/melted butter to make them even yummier. This will be a standard for many meals from now on. Many raves from family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These rolls were very bland, and despite the sugar and yeast, didn't taste of either. I'll stick with my own recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Thank you very much for this recipe, I made a batch divided and made with half of the recipe sticky buns with a topping of some melted cream cheese and confectionarssugar, they were a treat just like the rolls. Will make lots more of delicious things with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geertruidenberg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I've only made yeast rolls a few times, but this recipe definitely makes the best rolls I've ever had. This will be the recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misanthrope
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Love these rolls. I make them on a regular basis and freeze large batches. I make large rolls and slice them in half for hamburgers, I make smaller rolls to eat with lunch and soups. A versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misanthrope

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
The rolls had a nice look to them but that's about it. They were very bland to me, even when I put butter on top while they were cooling. Next time I think I'll use less flour and put some cinnamon and a little more sugar to give it some kind of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Crockett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Very good rolls, but didn't have the yeast taste I was wanting. It was still very very good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This recipe was my first successful attempt at making bread by hand. I used butter instead of shortening and it could be why, but I found the buns to be very flavorless, even buttered. Very easy to make but taste like they are missing something to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States