Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Everything you'd expect from a great roll recipe. Made the recipe to a T and they came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I tried to make these for Thanksgiving and didn't really care for them all that much. Some of my aunts and uncles really loved them but others didn't. I thought they were too heavy and the taste of flour over powered them. Not the perfect roll recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These were great! Easy, great tasting and tender. A keeper! Rose nicely and baked up very pretty. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the slightly-cooled scalded milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the cooled water, shortening, egg, and then gradually added the dry ingredients. I did need just bit more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook, almost another full cup. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right. I ate one right out of the oven and I have to say, I'm not a fan so far. This is not my favorite roll recipe. It was a slow riser and kind of a cranky dough to work with. The rolls have a consistancy of beer bread, which is fine and dandy if that's what you're making, but that's not what I was expecting. Plus, there's almost NO flavor in these rolls at all, aside from salt. I think if I'd used melted butter instead of shortening, I think the outcome would be more favorable. Even brushing them with butter didn't make much of a change. I'm really disappointed. I'm sure these rolls were fabulous for others but not for me. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I have had this recipe for over 25 years from a friend's mother and it is the exact duplicate except that the rolls are stuffed before baking with a mixture of ham, bacon and onion. Just made them 2 days ago. They are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Wow, these rolls are exactly what I've been craving. They are just like the ones at a wonderful Southern comfort food restaurant I loved. After baking, I brushed the tops with melted butter and coarse Kosher salt. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplesun7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I'v used this recipe so many time because everyone raves over the rolls. There isn't anything in any store to compare to these. It is my #1 most requested food at gatherings. If you've never made them, at LEAST try it once, they are excellent. It does take a few hours (waiting mostly) for dough to rise, but well worth every minute. Thanks GrannyRob for making me such at hit at something I'd never done before, (making rolls that is). Thanks for submitting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYGILL2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
YUM! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These are a perfect dinner roll. I prefer a slightly sweeter roll but my guests just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PercyPea
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I love these rolls! I've made them a few times now, but today I tried them with whole wheat flour and they were still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States