Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
These are extremely tasty. I made them with butter instead of shortening (therefore getting rid of trans-fats) and they were excellent. I made the whole recipe, and then froze the left-over rolls. Pop the frozen rolls in the oven for a few minutes, and they taste fresh baked! This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I have won blue ribbons for my yeast breads and have never made anything that even came close to as good as these turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
My whole family loved these rolls. I used a smaller pan though and tried putting some in muffin tins. They worked nicely too, but I should have used bigger pieces of dough in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wonderful rolls! I've made this recipe twice now and each time the rolls came out just great. I had to use a bit more flour but I really think that had to do with the weather on the days I made them. Really a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the slightly-cooled scalded milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the cooled water, shortening, egg, and then gradually added the dry ingredients. I did need just bit more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook, almost another full cup. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right. I ate one right out of the oven and I have to say, I'm not a fan so far. This is not my favorite roll recipe. It was a slow riser and kind of a cranky dough to work with. The rolls have a consistancy of beer bread, which is fine and dandy if that's what you're making, but that's not what I was expecting. Plus, there's almost NO flavor in these rolls at all, aside from salt. I think if I'd used melted butter instead of shortening, I think the outcome would be more favorable. Even brushing them with butter didn't make much of a change. I'm really disappointed. I'm sure these rolls were fabulous for others but not for me. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I LOVE the old home style taste! I have been searching for a good old fashioned roll and have finally found it! I will be making these forever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I loved these rolls. I have made many different recipes and this one works out best. I use almost 1 1/4 cup less flour though. I found it got to flaky if I added all the flour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNF45

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I've been looking for a really good roll recipe and I found it. The first time I made them they turned out great. My family loved them, but we're used to a little bigger roll. The second time around I made 16 instead of the 24 and substituted a little whole wheat flour. They turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Very, very good! I made them for a Thanksgiving celebration with friends and everyone raved over them. If they were a touch sweeter, they'd be everything I ever dreamed of in a roll. I divided mine into 18 portions (because someone said that 24 were very small) and they ended up being bigger than I anticipated. Next time I'll make 24 like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
They were good rolls, but my kids (4 of them)really didn't gobble them up as I had hoped they would. I am still going to look for that recipe that tastes like my grandma's did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States