Old Plantation Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I LOVE the old home style taste! I have been searching for a good old fashioned roll and have finally found it! I will be making these forever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
My whole family loved these rolls. I used a smaller pan though and tried putting some in muffin tins. They worked nicely too, but I should have used bigger pieces of dough in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
They were good rolls, but my kids (4 of them)really didn't gobble them up as I had hoped they would. I am still going to look for that recipe that tastes like my grandma's did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wonderful rolls! I've made this recipe twice now and each time the rolls came out just great. I had to use a bit more flour but I really think that had to do with the weather on the days I made them. Really a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
These are good basic rolls. They were not quite as fluffy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I've been looking for a really good roll recipe and I found it. The first time I made them they turned out great. My family loved them, but we're used to a little bigger roll. The second time around I made 16 instead of the 24 and substituted a little whole wheat flour. They turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
The rolls had a good flavor, but they were a little to dense for my taste. thanks, but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is a wonderful roll recipe that was extremly easy to prepare. I prepared this for Thankgsgiving Day and these rolls were a raving hit! I followed the recipe to a T except I covered with clingy plastic wrap instead of damp cloth during the risings. They came out perfect! Thanks Grannyrob for sharing your scrumptious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYINABASKET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I made homemade yeast rolls for the very first time and it was very easy and Awesome. I will never buy store bought again if I have the time to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made 1/2 recipe for Thanksgiving and used my bread machine to mix and knead the dough. Just dumped all the ingredients into the pan and turned it on. I then baked them in the oven at 350% for 8-10 minutes. This made 12 rolls. The rolls were soft and flavorful with a wonderful taste and texture. This is the recipe that I've been searching for. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States