Old Man's Turkey Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is a stupendous soup recipe. I use a leftover turkey carcass with plenty of meat left on it as the base for my soup. The original submitter of this recipe says her dad made this and that was the extent of his culinary efforts. My 'old man' was a cook too and he would have definitely made a soup like this. Highly suggest serving this soup to warm your cockles on a cold winters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DuffyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Colebrook, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I used leftover turkey in lieu of the drumsticks. I also used part chicken broth, part water in lieu of all water. Next time I will use all chicken or turkey broth and I will up the spices. It was good but prefer a little more flavor as a personal preference. This makes a very large pot of soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe, KDcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We loved this soup, but I did make some changes. I used my turkey drippings and leftover gravy along with chicken broth in place of the water. I was out of sage, so I used 1 tsp. of poultry seasoning in place of the individual seasonings. I didn't add any salt, because I didn't use water and with the addition of the fresh celery, I did see the need for the celery salt. I have also found that soups with pasta, when leftovers are stored, the pasta absorbs all of the broth. I add my noodles as I serve the soup. You can precook noodles and store them with a little melted butter to keep them from sticking to each other. We liked the soup better than the turkey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Simple. Easy. And delicious!! Thank you for the recipe. It made my first Thanksgiving turkey last longer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Did not care for this at all. Followed recipe to a "T". Had a funny after taste and just didn't look appealing at all. I guess I'm just not a fan of dumping everything the pot and simmering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Seriously, this was the best turkey (I used chicken) soup recipe I've ever used. All of the spices were right on which is the most important thing in this recipe. I used chicken thighs and breast instead of turkey and I cut the water by half and used vegetable stock for the rest. I will use this recipe from now on. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowmom60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Use fresh turkey drumsticks - they're cheap, come in an easy to handle pack of 2 or 3 and always available in our local market. Much better result and easier to handle than a leftover carcass which has had most of the flavor cooked out of it already. Follow the recipe as written for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this from left over turkey bones. My tip is to place all the turkey bones from cutting up a turkey and placing them on tin foil and bake the bones until they are nice and brown and crispy looking. Then I boil them in the water from potatoes and the broth has so much more flavour. I followed the rest of this recipe and if was yummy. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Fabulous!!!!! I was looking for a soup to use the leftover turkey from the bone in turkey breasts I had made earlier in the week. I followed the basic recipe but made a few adjustments. I had 4 cups turkey breast meat and also the carcass from the turkey breast and used that instead of the drumsticks. I used 9 cups water and 3 cans low sodium chicken broth. The seasoning was perfect but I doubled the sage, thyme and rosemary since I was making a larger batch. I added the 4 cups turkey at the end. I also threw in a cup each of frozen peas and corn at the end and used Ronzoni whole grain egg noodles that I added right to the pot (a 12 oz package). The house smells amazing and the soup tastes even better. Perfect combination of flavors! This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent and very easy. I've made it twice now and loved it. I use smoked turkey legs, since my local market carries them regularly, and "Grandma's" fresh frozen egg noodles which I thawed and added straight to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike McEwan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States