Old Man's Turkey Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. Did everyone's "old man" make this after every Thanksgiving? Mine didn't but I learned from my father in law how to make this. He always boiled down the turkey carcass and used the "juice" from that and pieced out the bones from the meat and added more chopped leftover turkey and he added a cup or so of leftover turkey gravy, a little worchestershire and a couple bay leaves. (He didn't add that much salt, but he did add quite a bit. I only season to taste because I'm not a big salter of food.) It's one of my husband's favorite parts of Thanksgiving and now that my father in law has been gone for almost five years, I make this for my husband and boys and we reminisce over our favorite memories of him. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's such a wonderful recipe that I'm sure is not just a family tradition for only our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent soup. Just like my dad used to make. Did not have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good. Will be making again. Totally used recipe no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is an excellent soup! I did use 1/2 tsp (maybe more) of black pepper because we are big fans, and also added about 1/2 a cup of heavy cream (I do this with nearly all my soups). It was fantastic. The herb mix is just perfect. This works just as well with white meat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My family enjoys turkey noodle soup, but I rarely made it because I always made it with the turkey carcass. Now we can have turkey noodle soup anytime!!! This recipe was straightforward, easy to make, and the result was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent and very easy. Made it twice now and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlmcewan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Fabulous!!!!! I was looking for a soup to use the leftover turkey from the bone in turkey breasts I had made earlier in the week. I followed the basic recipe but made a few adjustments. I had 4 cups turkey breast meat and also the carcass from the turkey breast and used that instead of the drumsticks. I used 9 cups water and 3 cans low sodium chicken broth. The seasoning was perfect but I doubled the sage, thyme and rosemary since I was making a larger batch. I added the 4 cups turkey at the end. I also threw in a cup each of frozen peas and corn at the end and used Ronzoni whole grain egg noodles that I added right to the pot (a 12 oz package). The house smells amazing and the soup tastes even better. Perfect combination of flavors! This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this from left over turkey bones. My tip is to place all the turkey bones from cutting up a turkey and placing them on tin foil and bake the bones until they are nice and brown and crispy looking. Then I boil them in the water from potatoes and the broth has so much more flavour. I followed the rest of this recipe and if was yummy. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Use fresh turkey drumsticks - they're cheap, come in an easy to handle pack of 2 or 3 and always available in our local market. Much better result and easier to handle than a leftover carcass which has had most of the flavor cooked out of it already. Follow the recipe as written for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Seriously, this was the best turkey (I used chicken) soup recipe I've ever used. All of the spices were right on which is the most important thing in this recipe. I used chicken thighs and breast instead of turkey and I cut the water by half and used vegetable stock for the rest. I will use this recipe from now on. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowmom60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States