Old Man's Turkey Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
been doing this for ages only I use the turkey carcass after Thenksgiving. Great way to use all the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Simple, delicious, and my husband loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
A very easy and delicious recipie. It is even better the next day. I used rice the second day instead of noodles and I liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fry Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. Did everyone's "old man" make this after every Thanksgiving? Mine didn't but I learned from my father in law how to make this. He always boiled down the turkey carcass and used the "juice" from that and pieced out the bones from the meat and added more chopped leftover turkey and he added a cup or so of leftover turkey gravy, a little worchestershire and a couple bay leaves. (He didn't add that much salt, but he did add quite a bit. I only season to taste because I'm not a big salter of food.) It's one of my husband's favorite parts of Thanksgiving and now that my father in law has been gone for almost five years, I make this for my husband and boys and we reminisce over our favorite memories of him. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's such a wonderful recipe that I'm sure is not just a family tradition for only our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good. Will be making again. Totally used recipe no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is an excellent soup! I did use 1/2 tsp (maybe more) of black pepper because we are big fans, and also added about 1/2 a cup of heavy cream (I do this with nearly all my soups). It was fantastic. The herb mix is just perfect. This works just as well with white meat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My family enjoys turkey noodle soup, but I rarely made it because I always made it with the turkey carcass. Now we can have turkey noodle soup anytime!!! This recipe was straightforward, easy to make, and the result was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent soup. Just like my dad used to make. Did not have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent and very easy. Made it twice now and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlmcewan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Fabulous!!!!! I was looking for a soup to use the leftover turkey from the bone in turkey breasts I had made earlier in the week. I followed the basic recipe but made a few adjustments. I had 4 cups turkey breast meat and also the carcass from the turkey breast and used that instead of the drumsticks. I used 9 cups water and 3 cans low sodium chicken broth. The seasoning was perfect but I doubled the sage, thyme and rosemary since I was making a larger batch. I added the 4 cups turkey at the end. I also threw in a cup each of frozen peas and corn at the end and used Ronzoni whole grain egg noodles that I added right to the pot (a 12 oz package). The house smells amazing and the soup tastes even better. Perfect combination of flavors! This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States