Old Italian Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made this yesterday and it was great. I used variations based on other reviews and used 1/2 of the wine and three times the garlic. I did't have rosemary but substituted Italian seasoning. Looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This looks like the original recipe we were given in 1970 by Sra Maria; proprietor and cook for La Caravelle Ristorante, Specchiolla, Italy... Over the years, the written recipe was lost; and my lady relied on her memory... Things change! I must try to recapture those tastes, and this is the best "start" I've seen... Yes, I'm preparing it right now; and will follow Ms Debbie's recipe faithfully, although I think it needs about four times the garlic... LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Not bad. For those complaining about the wine taste, it is more than likely the quality of wine you are using. If it's not worth drinking, it's definitely not worth cooking with. I also used both ground beef and Italian sausage. Also with the onions, I threw in some caramelized onions (I always keep some on hand) for depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I did this in a hurry using a bit of red wine vinegar in splashes when it called for wine, balanced it out with a spoon of brown sugar, canned mushrooms, and just dried spices. My five roommates loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I was looking for a great meat sauce that my 10 & 7 year old would enjoy. They do not like tomato chuncks, sausage or mushrooms in their sauce. I cut out the mushrooms, and bought an genuine Italian made spaghetti pasta from a market, the kind that is air dried. When the pasta was done al dente, I poured one cup of ice water into the hot pasta water to slow the cooking of the pasta. I also added some grated Parmesan to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I only simmered it for an hour, and it came out great. I used hot turkey sausage as the meat, and added some finely chopped carrot and celery in step 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good. I made it just as the recipe indicated, I just backed down from the amount of wine called for ( per the reviews). I made it in the crockpot on low for several hours instead of the stovetop for convenience sake. It will be my standard meat sauce recipe now,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Just a followup to my earlier review, I did try this in my slow cooker and it turned out great by the time I got home from an 8 hour shift at work. Just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mama in nebraska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This sauce was awsome. I only changed the amount of mushrooms to half. Everyone raved and wants recipe. Never made sauce without adding any salt and sugar. You would never know. Flavor is perfect! I didn't think wine was too much like other reviews. Making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Absolutely amazing - I couldn't be happier - only thing I did much different was reduced the wine by a cup. It's still very wine'y with 2 cups, so if you prefer a little less, you could cut back to 1 1/2 and still get some of that flavor. WE LOVED IT!!! OUR NEW RED SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States