Old Italian Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I followed the recipe to the letter and am receiving kudos from our diverse little group. I did use home canned San Marzano tomatoes and my own version of tomato paste along with fresh herbs. This is so easy and so good, it may replace my mushroom and meat sauce for good. I agree with the comment regarding reducing each wine addition to let the flavors develop. I did use all the wine this recipe called for and with the reductions, the wine was not overwhelming. Served over fresh pasta with grated Asiago or Romano, mixed green salad and hot from the oven focaccia, we are talking heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
What a great sauce! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand and the recipe was still family pleasing. Instead of pork I had Italian sausage and ground beef...loved the flavor the Italian sausage added. And we omitted the mushrooms due to personal preference, I also cut back on the wine a bit. I don't mind wine in my dishes but I felt the 2 cups more before you simmer seemed a bit much. The sauce was still so hearty and flavorful. I think this will be my go to meat sauce recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
If I did this in a crock could I just add all ingredients with the browned meats? Or would I have to add the ingredients in stages? I plan on adding green pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I threw this together in 20 minutes using canned mushrooms and dried spices....bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This sauce is wonderful. Just smelling it all afternoon was pure torture. All 4 kids kept begging for dinner because the house smelled so delicious. I could not resist "taste tests" every 20 min or so. We've been cutting the fat in our diets, so I used ground turkey in place of the beef and pork, and no one noticed. For myself, I used this on spiralized zucchini noodles, and I was in heaven. I didn't miss the pasta at all. This is an absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Ms Debbie; you brought back a taste and texture that I have searched for. Greek, Italian and Turk restaurants use this basic mixture for almost anything they serve over pasta; any style you wish... Lost the recipe years ago, and have searched... Thank you for sharing this version... Of course, it can be tweaked to anyone's taste, but you have supplied the basics and that is exactly how I will fix our first batch... Again, thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made this yesterday and it was great. I used variations based on other reviews and used 1/2 of the wine and three times the garlic. I did't have rosemary but substituted Italian seasoning. Looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Not bad. For those complaining about the wine taste, it is more than likely the quality of wine you are using. If it's not worth drinking, it's definitely not worth cooking with. I also used both ground beef and Italian sausage. Also with the onions, I threw in some caramelized onions (I always keep some on hand) for depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I did this in a hurry using a bit of red wine vinegar in splashes when it called for wine, balanced it out with a spoon of brown sugar, canned mushrooms, and just dried spices. My five roommates loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I was looking for a great meat sauce that my 10 & 7 year old would enjoy. They do not like tomato chuncks, sausage or mushrooms in their sauce. I cut out the mushrooms, and bought an genuine Italian made spaghetti pasta from a market, the kind that is air dried. When the pasta was done al dente, I poured one cup of ice water into the hot pasta water to slow the cooking of the pasta. I also added some grated Parmesan to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States