Old Italian Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Absolutely amazing - I couldn't be happier - only thing I did much different was reduced the wine by a cup. It's still very wine'y with 2 cups, so if you prefer a little less, you could cut back to 1 1/2 and still get some of that flavor. WE LOVED IT!!! OUR NEW RED SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Loved it! Made this tonight for my boyfriend and I. We both liked it a lot. I cut the ingredients in half and there is still tons left. Freezing some of the sauce for next time we want pasta. I saw on the reviews that the wine might be too much. I used 1.5 cups of cab and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great meal. but only use half the wine.Also half the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vindog1974

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was the most incredible sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My Italian/German husband said this is the best sauce he has had in years (I am not Italian, so I felt great to give him an Italian meal he truly enjoyed)! I only used 1/2 cup of wine, omitted the paste, and added fresh tomatos, fresh red pepper, crushed red pepper, and easily doubled the herbs. I also added a dash of Kosher Salt and garlic powder and significantly more fresh garlic (We love garlic in this household). We used ground turkey and hot italian chicken sausage for the proteins. It was a great combination of heat and savory flavors with great texture. This is a great base recipe that you can build upon to meet your family's needs. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This sauce is just what I was looking for, thanks. This barely fit it my big le creuset pot, so we only added 1c wine and then simmered it uncovered, ate some for dinner after 1h, and then added a bit more wine to the rest. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Another fantastic recipe. I wanted to try something a little different and I'm so glad I did. Got me a bottle of red wine and got straight to work. You know, I make a pretty good home made meat sauce, but after this I don't think I can ever go back. Just WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
this sauce is exceptional!!! I used half ground beef and half bulk italian sausage. For the wine I used Cab Sav from Barefoot. For the people who found the sauce a little "winey", the key is to let the wine reduce when adding it to the sauted vegetables. I also used 1 large can of tomato sauce, 1 large can of tomato puree and 1 large can of crushed tomatoes, just to get some different textures. I also used fresh thyme, rosemary and oregano, which I put in with the wine. Towards the end of the simmering, I added some cumin, crushed red pepper flakes and a pinch of cinnamon. It makes a ton of sauce, but freezes well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
this was my meat sauce for our timpano dish, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made this and we absolutely loved it. This is for those who don't like the sugary way some restaurant sauces taste. Eating this sauce it is easy to imagine yourself in a little Italian home where people are warm and loving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States