Old Italian Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I only simmered it for an hour, and it came out great. I used hot turkey sausage as the meat, and added some finely chopped carrot and celery in step 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good. I made it just as the recipe indicated, I just backed down from the amount of wine called for ( per the reviews). I made it in the crockpot on low for several hours instead of the stovetop for convenience sake. It will be my standard meat sauce recipe now,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Just a followup to my earlier review, I did try this in my slow cooker and it turned out great by the time I got home from an 8 hour shift at work. Just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This sauce was awsome. I only changed the amount of mushrooms to half. Everyone raved and wants recipe. Never made sauce without adding any salt and sugar. You would never know. Flavor is perfect! I didn't think wine was too much like other reviews. Making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Absolutely amazing - I couldn't be happier - only thing I did much different was reduced the wine by a cup. It's still very wine'y with 2 cups, so if you prefer a little less, you could cut back to 1 1/2 and still get some of that flavor. WE LOVED IT!!! OUR NEW RED SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Loved it! Made this tonight for my boyfriend and I. We both liked it a lot. I cut the ingredients in half and there is still tons left. Freezing some of the sauce for next time we want pasta. I saw on the reviews that the wine might be too much. I used 1.5 cups of cab and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great meal. but only use half the wine.Also half the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vindog1974

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was the most incredible sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My Italian/German husband said this is the best sauce he has had in years (I am not Italian, so I felt great to give him an Italian meal he truly enjoyed)! I only used 1/2 cup of wine, omitted the paste, and added fresh tomatos, fresh red pepper, crushed red pepper, and easily doubled the herbs. I also added a dash of Kosher Salt and garlic powder and significantly more fresh garlic (We love garlic in this household). We used ground turkey and hot italian chicken sausage for the proteins. It was a great combination of heat and savory flavors with great texture. This is a great base recipe that you can build upon to meet your family's needs. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This sauce is just what I was looking for, thanks. This barely fit it my big le creuset pot, so we only added 1c wine and then simmered it uncovered, ate some for dinner after 1h, and then added a bit more wine to the rest. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States