Old Irish Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Oh yeah, this was good. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skin on. Reminded me of a rustic scalloped potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
No Irish in my family tree, but this is a recipe my Grams taught me. She also threw "whatever you have" into the mix. But we use buttermilk (left over from the churning, no one likes to drink it in my house but we sure like to cook with it!) My standard mix includes garlic. Not sure if it's the same recipe, but it's the same principal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Perfect great real Irish tater recipe. My grannie made these all the time on her farm..and like a prior poster said, she added what was on hand…..yummy homey tasty spuds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made exactly as recipe was written, and the whole family loved them. Two suggestions already made by other reviewers, next time I will slice the potatoes a bit thicker as they were breaking apart when forked; and possibly using less butter since there was a lot of melted butter floating on top of the sauce, but if it changes the flavor I won't change a thing - because these were wonderful just as is! This is a fabulous traditional and simple dish, melts in your mouth and very calming! I may try some suggested variations because this recipe is also a fantastic starting point for experimentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
my mother made these when I was growing up. I followed how ever I had to add a cup of shredded cheffed as I folded the recipe to mix. I love this. its also good as a breakfast side..sopping it up with a biscuit. super yummie..thank you for reminding me! I'm putting this one back into my dinners...and breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie q

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Not all of my family likes scalloped potatoes, so I cut this recipe in half, and substituted 2% milk for the cream. In my covered casserole dish, the potatoes cooked through in about 30 minutes. Although they fell apart more than I expected (next time I will slice a little thicker, by hand, rather than using the slicer) they were delicious (although a bit too buttery for my taste). I ended up sprinkling with some shredded jack cheese and adding a bit more milk to make more of a sauce. This will definitely be added to my regular side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this recipe, and like other members, I made a few changes for our taste. I layered the potatoes with sliced butter, salt, pepper, onion powder, cooked chopped bacon, cheese, a mixture of 1/2 heavy whipping cream and 1/2 milk on each layer. I made two layers using 5 smaller russett potatoes sliced thin. I used the recommended amount of butter but feel I will use 1/2 of that next time (1/4 cup). This recipe is not for calorie concious! But it is amazingly delicious! I only gave it four stars by itself as written... changes made to the recipe really made it five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Good but I layered the potatoes with thin onion slices and grated cheddar cheese. I then combined melted butter, 1/2 & 1/2 and a small pour of sherry which I then poured over the layered potato mixture. Baked at 400 for 45 minuets. Got raves from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really good potato dish-i will definiely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe as is for a side dish! The second time I made it I added ham, chili powder, ginger, smoked paprika,cayenne pepper and made it into a main dish. Spectacular!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States