Old Irish Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These really are old irish, my great grandmother used this recipe. As you say, what ever you have on hand! She made these for any big meal with the family, if she had extra cheese, extra ham scraps, a bit of bacon, it went in! Green onions in spring too! Every time she made them, they were different, but this is the basic idea of this recipe! If she didn't have cream, she made a basic white sauce with milk and butter and used that, but usually she made them when she had extra cream from the farm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
my mother made these when I was growing up. I followed how ever I had to add a cup of shredded cheffed as I folded the recipe to mix. I love this. its also good as a breakfast side..sopping it up with a biscuit. super yummie..thank you for reminding me! I'm putting this one back into my dinners...and breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie q

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe as is for a side dish! The second time I made it I added ham, chili powder, ginger, smoked paprika,cayenne pepper and made it into a main dish. Spectacular!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really good potato dish-i will definiely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made exactly as recipe was written, and the whole family loved them. Two suggestions already made by other reviewers, next time I will slice the potatoes a bit thicker as they were breaking apart when forked; and possibly using less butter since there was a lot of melted butter floating on top of the sauce, but if it changes the flavor I won't change a thing - because these were wonderful just as is! This is a fabulous traditional and simple dish, melts in your mouth and very calming! I may try some suggested variations because this recipe is also a fantastic starting point for experimentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Not all of my family likes scalloped potatoes, so I cut this recipe in half, and substituted 2% milk for the cream. In my covered casserole dish, the potatoes cooked through in about 30 minutes. Although they fell apart more than I expected (next time I will slice a little thicker, by hand, rather than using the slicer) they were delicious (although a bit too buttery for my taste). I ended up sprinkling with some shredded jack cheese and adding a bit more milk to make more of a sauce. This will definitely be added to my regular side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
They were really good. My sliced potatoes were sticking to each other, so next time I will probably try cubes. Other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I added slightly less butter and left them in the oven for an hour. They needed a little time to "set-up", so I left them on the counter for about 15 minutes before serving. They were really good with our corned beef on St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this recipe, and like other members, I made a few changes for our taste. I layered the potatoes with sliced butter, salt, pepper, onion powder, cooked chopped bacon, cheese, a mixture of 1/2 heavy whipping cream and 1/2 milk on each layer. I made two layers using 5 smaller russett potatoes sliced thin. I used the recommended amount of butter but feel I will use 1/2 of that next time (1/4 cup). This recipe is not for calorie concious! But it is amazingly delicious! I only gave it four stars by itself as written... changes made to the recipe really made it five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
For us these were not tasty enough to justify the calories - they need finely diced or sliced onion for sure - maybe a paprika seasoning between the layers. As is these were nothing special to write home about. Thanks for sharing - they have potential but need a bit of tweaking to bring them up to their potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States