Old German Honey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SuperMario
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I used 1 cup of butter instead of 1 cup of shortening. They turned out extremely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Came out incredibly perfect! I ran out of flour after two cups and used pancake mix for the rest. I also subbed margarine for shortening as I was also out of that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for, a rustic, old world honey cookie. I did adjust the recipe to 1.5c of honey and 1/2c of sugar, and halved the ginger. I baked mine on a stone pan, which can yield longer cooking time/softer cookies. 12 minutes was perfect for soft, dense, chewy cookies. I really wanted the honey flavor shine, and it was perfect! This isn't a typical "Americanized" super sweet cookie. It's the perfect cookie to showcase the old world charm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
WONDERFUL! I followed this recipe exactly and the cookies were soft and delicious. The rich honey taste left a nice aftertaste. I will most definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have never made this recipe or heard about this as a German Christmas cookie. I have a German background. This is a really good recipe. A really nice soft cookie and I love the hint of ginger in the recipe. This is definitely a keeper and I will make for future Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Stypa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I'm not sure I like these cookies they were pretty boring. The first batch I cooked for 13 minutes and they were really on the done side. The second batch I made slightly smaller cookies, added cinnamon and more ginger and bake them for 10 1/2 minutes and they came out better - still not my favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURNCM1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muqum
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
They are yumm. I added fresh ginger juice and butter instead of shortening and ginger powder. I cut the sugar into half and increased the amount of honey. I made these on request of my 4 year old and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made these exactly according to the directions and they turned out lovely. They baked for 12 mins and I switched the cookie sheets between the racks half way through. These were not bland and had a delicious honey taste. Perhaps this also has something to do with the type or quality of honey you use. The ginger brightened the flavor but didn't taste overly ginger-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I received good feedback from everyone that ate them. Two people said they were "very good" and proceeded to devour them. I didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The milk was more appetizing than the cookies. I decided to follow others' reviews and change sugar to 1/2 c and honey to 1.25 c, and I added Cinnamon and Nutmeg. The first batch came out near tasteless, and my mother suggested adding chunks of apple to the batter. The apple made it a bit better, but I still didn't like them. If I'd kept to the original sugar and honey amounts (and perhaps upped the spice amounts, and changed the shortening to butter), MAYBE they would have turned out better. My parents and little sister all said they were "not bad," but I get the feeling they were just being polite. I will never make these again. *ALSO: I at first followed the advice of one user suggesting to wait until they were just a bit golden brown on the TOP, however mine never browned on the top. As a result, my first 9 cookies came out burnt. If your tops aren't browning, use the edges as a guide. If brown is just starting to peek out, they're done. Mine went for 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States