Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I never made soup before and I tried this recipe, AWESOME! I did make some changes, used EVOO instead of butter, and I added potatoes, corn, and pasta. A great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This soup was DELICIOUS! I did reduce the soy sauce to 2 tablespoons, because 3 seemed a little much to me (I was glad I did) and used diced tomatoes in place of the whole (made more sense). Also, I just used salt to taste and not the entire teaspoon called for. I added in one diced zucchini and a few diced potatoes because they needed to be used up. When it was almost done, I added about 1 cup of small shell pasta and simmered until done, just to make it a little more hearitier. This made a really nice sized pot of soup. Two thumbs up from all of us and a definate repeat recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
LOVED IT, will make again. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the whole peeled. I used 2T of Tamari instead of the soy sauce, as i was afraid, but will put the full 3T in next time. I also added one each of: sweet potato, white potato,1/2 cup of pumpkin puree,extra carrots, used olive oil instead of butter, and veggie broth instead of beef. Was excellent, and my new favorite for veggie soup. I also cooked some small pasta shapes (animals,stars,tubes,letters,etc.) separately and added them to the bowls and ladled the soup on top. with leftovers i kept the pasta separate so it wouldnt be mushy. YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Gorgeous, filling, comforting soup. Lots of great flavour and so very simple to prepare. My only change was using fresh parsley at the end instead of dried during the cooking as that is what I had to hand. I will be making this soup again soon I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I used to serve a group of 15. Everyone loved it. I make it often. It is also delicious by adding nutritous black beans. Also seems to enhance the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Awesome! Used sodium-free chicken broth and low-sodium soy sauce, added a dash of cayenne, and couldn't have been happier with the results. Perfect for a cold winter day and very healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Didn't have Worcestershire sauce OR soy sauce, added some onion salt instead. Didn't have any celery, cut up a small potato instead, and used 1 med. fresh tomato instead of canned. Still turned out GREAT! Next time I will be sure to add the Worcestershire sauce, but this was EASY, QUICK, and fabulous!! I think this will become a household staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbjess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made a whole pot of this vegetable soup for myself and I ate it all in three days. However, I used evoo instead of butter, organic vegetable broth instead of beef broth, and I didn't use worcestershire sauce. I also added fresh parsley, ripe tomatoes, and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This turned out very tasty. I followed the recipe but added small pasta shells. Yummy flavor and even my husband who doesn't like any veggies enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really enjoy this soup. The one time I made it, by mistake I bought crushed instead of whole tomatoes and it worked out even better. For variety, add some frozen mixed vegetables and small pasta like shells or orzo. Don't use rice of any kind, made soup too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States