Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Didn't have Worcestershire sauce OR soy sauce, added some onion salt instead. Didn't have any celery, cut up a small potato instead, and used 1 med. fresh tomato instead of canned. Still turned out GREAT! Next time I will be sure to add the Worcestershire sauce, but this was EASY, QUICK, and fabulous!! I think this will become a household staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbjess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
good but not much to it. Good for a light dinner or lunch. Would be a good base to a beef stew. I think if I make it again I will use less soy sauce and worcestershire because I thought the taste was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Gorgeous, filling, comforting soup. Lots of great flavour and so very simple to prepare. My only change was using fresh parsley at the end instead of dried during the cooking as that is what I had to hand. I will be making this soup again soon I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Awesome! Used sodium-free chicken broth and low-sodium soy sauce, added a dash of cayenne, and couldn't have been happier with the results. Perfect for a cold winter day and very healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I never made soup before and I tried this recipe, AWESOME! I did make some changes, used EVOO instead of butter, and I added potatoes, corn, and pasta. A great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Left out the Tomatoes, still ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with ground beef because heaven knows my husband will just DIE if there isn't any meat!!!!!! Ha! Ha! It had great flavor and my 11 year old made it with me so it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Overall this was a pretty good soup and my husband loved it, but I did make a few alterations. I added 2 potatoes, garlic powder, extra celery and carrots, kidney beans and oregano and it was very good. It reheated very well without getting too thick and made enough to last the two of us 3 days for lunches and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I thought this soup was excellent. Extremely easy to make and it turned out a lot hearty than I thought it would. I will definatley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Good vegetable soup. I used 1 1/2 cans diced tomatoes instead of whole (why use whole if you have to chop them?) I also added a couple zucchini. The celery wasnt very soft after 30 min of cooking, but it could be b/c I cut them a bit bigger. Tasted good with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. I am curious to see if the leftovers taste better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States