Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
good but not much to it. Good for a light dinner or lunch. Would be a good base to a beef stew. I think if I make it again I will use less soy sauce and worcestershire because I thought the taste was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Gorgeous, filling, comforting soup. Lots of great flavour and so very simple to prepare. My only change was using fresh parsley at the end instead of dried during the cooking as that is what I had to hand. I will be making this soup again soon I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Awesome! Used sodium-free chicken broth and low-sodium soy sauce, added a dash of cayenne, and couldn't have been happier with the results. Perfect for a cold winter day and very healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I never made soup before and I tried this recipe, AWESOME! I did make some changes, used EVOO instead of butter, and I added potatoes, corn, and pasta. A great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Left out the Tomatoes, still ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with ground beef because heaven knows my husband will just DIE if there isn't any meat!!!!!! Ha! Ha! It had great flavor and my 11 year old made it with me so it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Overall this was a pretty good soup and my husband loved it, but I did make a few alterations. I added 2 potatoes, garlic powder, extra celery and carrots, kidney beans and oregano and it was very good. It reheated very well without getting too thick and made enough to last the two of us 3 days for lunches and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I thought this soup was excellent. Extremely easy to make and it turned out a lot hearty than I thought it would. I will definatley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Good vegetable soup. I used 1 1/2 cans diced tomatoes instead of whole (why use whole if you have to chop them?) I also added a couple zucchini. The celery wasnt very soft after 30 min of cooking, but it could be b/c I cut them a bit bigger. Tasted good with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. I am curious to see if the leftovers taste better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
LOVED IT, will make again. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the whole peeled. I used 2T of Tamari instead of the soy sauce, as i was afraid, but will put the full 3T in next time. I also added one each of: sweet potato, white potato,1/2 cup of pumpkin puree,extra carrots, used olive oil instead of butter, and veggie broth instead of beef. Was excellent, and my new favorite for veggie soup. I also cooked some small pasta shapes (animals,stars,tubes,letters,etc.) separately and added them to the bowls and ladled the soup on top. with leftovers i kept the pasta separate so it wouldnt be mushy. YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States