Old-Fashioned Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I thought I would like this soup but I didn't. I don't think my family was impressed by it either. I added orzo pasta to make it a little heartier but it didn't help. I didn't like the flavor of the soy and worceshire sauce. It just gave it an odd taste in my opinion. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This has now become my favorite soup. The flavors were absolutely delicious..a little spicy, a little tang, but oh so perfect. And the best part is that it's easy to make and fast. I do recommend not adding salt until you have tasted it because of the broth and soy sauce. I ended up using very little extra salt. The only thing I did differently was to add a can of petite diced tomatoes, instead of chopping the whole ones, and adding a couple of potatoes. I will definitely be making this again and quite often. Thank you Shelly for this 10 star soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
First time ever making veggie soup. It was simple and came out great! The only thing I added was potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I make this soup all the time now for lunches :) its delicious with a little extra garlic and some little shell pastas :) Awesome recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I added whole wheat macaroni noodles to this... they did sop up some of the broth but this soup was hardy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really enjoy this soup. The one time I made it, by mistake I bought crushed instead of whole tomatoes and it worked out even better. For variety, add some frozen mixed vegetables and small pasta like shells or orzo. Don't use rice of any kind, made soup too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
It was a little salty for our taste, but otherwise we really liked it. Next time we make it I'll add less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This turned out very tasty. I followed the recipe but added small pasta shells. Yummy flavor and even my husband who doesn't like any veggies enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This soup was DELICIOUS! I did reduce the soy sauce to 2 tablespoons, because 3 seemed a little much to me (I was glad I did) and used diced tomatoes in place of the whole (made more sense). Also, I just used salt to taste and not the entire teaspoon called for. I added in one diced zucchini and a few diced potatoes because they needed to be used up. When it was almost done, I added about 1 cup of small shell pasta and simmered until done, just to make it a little more hearitier. This made a really nice sized pot of soup. Two thumbs up from all of us and a definate repeat recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made a whole pot of this vegetable soup for myself and I ate it all in three days. However, I used evoo instead of butter, organic vegetable broth instead of beef broth, and I didn't use worcestershire sauce. I also added fresh parsley, ripe tomatoes, and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States