Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Not sure why it got such great reviews. It didn't fit in a quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was an amazing recipe! I did use almond extract not lemon and folks loved the cookies. Dough does crumble but if you let the dough sit over night in the refrigerator and then make medium sized balls until dough is smooth and not crumbling, and then roll out, it works well to cut out shapes. I had a party and the cookies were a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very lovely used this a million times it never went wrong!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adapatata

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
very simple to make, and very delicious. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Edible and workable, but not fantastic. They were very puffy and distorted, but worked for simple hearts. An ok flavor, but I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The cookie dough was extremely sticky, even after mass attempts to decrease stickiness by adding more flour, it was still sticky. I ended up using half a teaspoon baking powder and baking soda. I didn't use cookie cutters, instead I just rolled them sphere-like. Although I made the balls miniature, The cookies took around 15 minutes to bake a batch. The overall result was delicious, I will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Pandie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After reading all of the reviews, I decided to decrease the baking powder and baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon each. My cookies came out perfect, they puffed up just a little bit and held their shape. I used this recipe to make christmas cookies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahnva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I will admit that i made this strictly for cuttin cookies with my son and OH boy what a mess! This recipe is VERY wet and sticky...I added A LOT more flour to make the dough manageable, and now they taste like...well...flour! Perhaps the would have tasted great with the original recipe but this recipe certainly iS NOT for cookie cutting! BOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have no idea how these taste, but I will advise against using this as suggested, as a jarred gift. Although it says they'll fit in a quart jar, they don't even come close. I have a whole cup of flour that needs to go in, and there's nowhere to put it at all. I'm displeased, as it means I'll either have to bake them myself or throw away all the ingredients. Very frustrating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
the lemon gives it a really nice flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States