Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Girlfriend made this recipe as a year for gifts and it is a well flavored recipe. The dough is a wet dough that is hard to cut so keep that in mind. If bottling this make sure to fluff the flour before measuring, packed flour will result in too much to put in the jars. A canning funnel will be your lifesaver as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Dull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I followed the directions and found that the ingredients do not fit in the jar. A quart jar holds 4 cups, this recipe has over 4 cups of ingredients just with flour and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Not sure why it got such great reviews. It didn't fit in a quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was an amazing recipe! I did use almond extract not lemon and folks loved the cookies. Dough does crumble but if you let the dough sit over night in the refrigerator and then make medium sized balls until dough is smooth and not crumbling, and then roll out, it works well to cut out shapes. I had a party and the cookies were a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very lovely used this a million times it never went wrong!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adapatata

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
very simple to make, and very delicious. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Edible and workable, but not fantastic. They were very puffy and distorted, but worked for simple hearts. An ok flavor, but I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The cookie dough was extremely sticky, even after mass attempts to decrease stickiness by adding more flour, it was still sticky. I ended up using half a teaspoon baking powder and baking soda. I didn't use cookie cutters, instead I just rolled them sphere-like. Although I made the balls miniature, The cookies took around 15 minutes to bake a batch. The overall result was delicious, I will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Pandie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After reading all of the reviews, I decided to decrease the baking powder and baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon each. My cookies came out perfect, they puffed up just a little bit and held their shape. I used this recipe to make christmas cookies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahnva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I will admit that i made this strictly for cuttin cookies with my son and OH boy what a mess! This recipe is VERY wet and sticky...I added A LOT more flour to make the dough manageable, and now they taste like...well...flour! Perhaps the would have tasted great with the original recipe but this recipe certainly iS NOT for cookie cutting! BOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States