Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This cookie mix in a jar sure won first place for the best taste in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These came out perfect. I only eliminated the lemon juice because my daughter said she had sugar cookies with lemon in it before and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I have tried many cookie jar recipes. This one is great! I always try the recipe before I give it to friends. Made these cookies with my 3 and 4 year old. It looks crumbly after you mix it, but I just gathered up the whole dough, wrapped it in a piece of plastic wrap, refrigerated it, and then instead of rolling it out we just made 1 inch balls and pressed them into Christmas sprinkles. They spread a lot, but they made a nice chewy sugar cookie. Very easy recipe. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These were the frist roll out cookies I've made and they are fantastic! I made them slightly thinner and they are nice and crispy, just the way I like them! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I don't know about putting them in a jar or anything, but the cookies were perfect. They had that little something extra that my old sugar cookie recipe didn't have. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaneeRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had...melt in your mouth crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Oh yum! I didn't have lemon extract so I used 1/4 tsp. additional vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. orange extract and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really liked this recipe. But I did make a few changes: I replaced the lemon extract with almond essence, and I added a dash of nutmeg. The consistency was just right. The cookies do puff up more than I'd expected, but using a more simple shape...like a heart or a flower...works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
wow!! these cookies are awesome!! i didn't even have lemon extract and they still turned out reaally yummy!! I replaced the lemon extract with lemon juice and it still worked. these cookies do turn out a lil puffier then normal sugar cookies, but they are definately sooo good!! i have made this recipe 3 times, and im planning to make another one tonite!! the batter is a lil sticky, buy o well!! the taste is not 5star, its 10 stars at the least!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I had to try these before giving them as gifts and I am so glad I did! They are GREAT. This is my new sugar cookie recipe. I have been looking for one for years (always using a new one because I couldn't find one I really liked). Not as soft as I was hoping but my daughters weren't exactly rolling the dough even either :) You have to try this with the sugar cookie frosting recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States