Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
These were terrific cookies!!! My son had so much fun helping me decorate them and we all enjoyed eating them...YUMMY!!! It was my first attempt at homemade sugar cookies, I usually use the kits you can get (NEVER AGAIN!!) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
yummy is all i can say - i didn't do the whole jar thing just made them up for the family and friends, all of whom pigged them down. these did not last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I would have given this recipe 5 stars except the cookies baked up puffier than you would expect for a roll-out sugar cookie, and so the shapes were distorted. This makes a wonderfully flavorful sugar cookie similar to those found in restaurants and stores, it is just not ideal for rolling and cutting out shapes, it is better for just round molded cookies. The dough was very easy to work with and the flavor of these cookies is...for lack of a better word...wonderful! It is exactly the flavor I was looking for in a sugar cookie, so I will most likely "tweak" this recipe and use it again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I have tried many cookie jar recipes. This one is great! I always try the recipe before I give it to friends. Made these cookies with my 3 and 4 year old. It looks crumbly after you mix it, but I just gathered up the whole dough, wrapped it in a piece of plastic wrap, refrigerated it, and then instead of rolling it out we just made 1 inch balls and pressed them into Christmas sprinkles. They spread a lot, but they made a nice chewy sugar cookie. Very easy recipe. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
wow!! these cookies are awesome!! i didn't even have lemon extract and they still turned out reaally yummy!! I replaced the lemon extract with lemon juice and it still worked. these cookies do turn out a lil puffier then normal sugar cookies, but they are definately sooo good!! i have made this recipe 3 times, and im planning to make another one tonite!! the batter is a lil sticky, buy o well!! the taste is not 5star, its 10 stars at the least!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
The taste is very good and I may make this again. For me it is quite sweet and we did not add frosting or any decoration. If I make this again, I will try it with less sugar. However, I don't think I'll use it for cut-outs (which is what I was looking for) because it really expands during cooking and the cut-outs will lose their shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I had to add about a c. of flour to form dough for cutouts. Made frosting to go with it and tasted very good. My family is pigging out on them and I plan to make them again soon. Thank you very much for sharing! The taste definitely deserves 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
These cookies were awful! I couldn't even roll it out, they were crumbly and just impossible. Unless, we did something wrong which I doubt since we followed the instructions, I am never making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This was a great holiday treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This cookie mix in a jar sure won first place for the best taste in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States