Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These were really excellent cookies! I didn't have lemon extract, but it wasn't a problem to just leave it out. Nutmeg would probably be a nice touch. I will try that next time. Also I didn't have the puffiness issue some reviewers talked about. My cutouts came out just fine. As always I'm using my trusty toaster oven. 750 watts for 7 minutes if anyone else is in this situation! On top I used cinnamon sugar on some and colored sugar on others. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Not the best, the cookies came out kind of bland. Not recommended for overseas cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These came out perfect. I only eliminated the lemon juice because my daughter said she had sugar cookies with lemon in it before and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Torres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really liked this recipe. But I did make a few changes: I replaced the lemon extract with almond essence, and I added a dash of nutmeg. The consistency was just right. The cookies do puff up more than I'd expected, but using a more simple shape...like a heart or a flower...works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had...melt in your mouth crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Oh yum! I didn't have lemon extract so I used 1/4 tsp. additional vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. orange extract and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I don't know about putting them in a jar or anything, but the cookies were perfect. They had that little something extra that my old sugar cookie recipe didn't have. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaneeRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe is tasty, but misleading. So, five stars for taste, minus two for the wrong label! The dough is much too soft to easily roll and cut, and it looses shape in the oven. However, that rising quality means that these are light, crisp, just soft enough, and delicious. I changed the recipe just a touch for fall cookies. Instead of lemon oil, I added two tablespoons of maple syrup (with a touch of flour to balance the liquid), and I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, a half a teaspoon of ginger, and a pinch of nutmeg. They were lovely and also nice with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Simple and addictive! I was concerned that the dough might be too crumbly, but it came together well enough in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States