Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Not the best, the cookies came out kind of bland. Not recommended for overseas cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These came out perfect. I only eliminated the lemon juice because my daughter said she had sugar cookies with lemon in it before and didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really liked this recipe. But I did make a few changes: I replaced the lemon extract with almond essence, and I added a dash of nutmeg. The consistency was just right. The cookies do puff up more than I'd expected, but using a more simple shape...like a heart or a flower...works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had...melt in your mouth crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Oh yum! I didn't have lemon extract so I used 1/4 tsp. additional vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. orange extract and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I don't know about putting them in a jar or anything, but the cookies were perfect. They had that little something extra that my old sugar cookie recipe didn't have. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaneeRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe is tasty, but misleading. So, five stars for taste, minus two for the wrong label! The dough is much too soft to easily roll and cut, and it looses shape in the oven. However, that rising quality means that these are light, crisp, just soft enough, and delicious. I changed the recipe just a touch for fall cookies. Instead of lemon oil, I added two tablespoons of maple syrup (with a touch of flour to balance the liquid), and I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, a half a teaspoon of ginger, and a pinch of nutmeg. They were lovely and also nice with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Simple and addictive! I was concerned that the dough might be too crumbly, but it came together well enough in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I had to try these before giving them as gifts and I am so glad I did! They are GREAT. This is my new sugar cookie recipe. I have been looking for one for years (always using a new one because I couldn't find one I really liked). Not as soft as I was hoping but my daughters weren't exactly rolling the dough even either :) You have to try this with the sugar cookie frosting recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States