Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful results!Firm cookie, but still soft, with a really nice taste. At first I wondered if they were baked long enough, but after they cooled, and I tried one ... Numm!! My husband LOVES sugar cookies, and I am always looking for moist ones. This is a perfect recipe, and I will be making this year after year! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brite Eyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. I did not have mace, but never the least, these cookies are superb! They were easy to make, extremely easy to roll out and a cinch to bake. The kids loved decorating them. I used a basic buttercream icing since my kiddos love tubing when decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Delicious soft sugar cookie! Dough is very easy to roll out and work with. I love that that you don't have to chill the dough before rolling out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These cookies are WONDERFUL. The dough is so sturdy and easy to handle: pops right out of the cookie cutters. I subbed nutmeg for the mace and the result almost had a flavor reminiscent of eggnog. My cookies were cut small and I baked for SIX minutes - was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
A more than 5 star sugar cookie!! The dough was easy to work with (I made it beforehand and chilled it in the fridge until I needed it), and survived a pack of kids armed with cookie cutters. The flavor is superb- the heavy cream adds SO much flavor to these cookies. I substituted a couple of generous shakes of cinnamon (about a tsp.) for the mace. I would suggest whisking the egg in a bowl with the vanilla before adding- I cracked mine into the bowl, and the yolk took some mushing up to get it incorporated. This will be THE sugar cookie recipe we use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
The only bad thing about this recipie is it is not 84 servings. It is CRULE to stop there:). But they are Amazing. I didn't have mace.. but they still turned out fantastic. My family of 6 had every last one of them finished within the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this recipe twice. The first time i subbed nutmeg for the mace. They were heavenly! Definitely my new favorite sugar cookie recipe. The second time I used fat-free half and half instead of cream and 1/2 c of sugar, 1/2 c of splenda. I had to bake a little longer (10 minutes). Not as good as the original, but still quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is my new favorite sugar cookie recipe... so easy to make, so easy to handle and cut effortlessly. It baked up beautifuly and everyone loved them!!! 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My 4 yr. old and I made this tonight. It was so easy and fun. The dough was very easy to work with and super easy to cut out shapes with. They turned out delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After tons of searching I must say this is the "best" sugar cookie recipe!! My 7 yr old and I had a great time making them and they taste FABULOUS!! THANKS! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States