Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
A more than 5 star sugar cookie!! The dough was easy to work with (I made it beforehand and chilled it in the fridge until I needed it), and survived a pack of kids armed with cookie cutters. The flavor is superb- the heavy cream adds SO much flavor to these cookies. I substituted a couple of generous shakes of cinnamon (about a tsp.) for the mace. I would suggest whisking the egg in a bowl with the vanilla before adding- I cracked mine into the bowl, and the yolk took some mushing up to get it incorporated. This will be THE sugar cookie recipe we use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I gave this recipe 1 star because the dough taste great. I decided to make these cookies as my 2year old sons first cookie experience. It was a disaster. The dough came together alright. When I put it out onto the counter (which had plenty of flour on it) and rolled it out, it kept sticking to the rolling pin (that I had also prepared). I rolled what I could and then scraped it up and put it in the fridge for 30 minutes. Got it back out and it rolled a little bit better. When we went to cut out cookies they wouldn't come up, well they did come up as blobs b/c they still stuck to the counter. I ended up using another recipe from King Arthur Flour. Those turned out great. If you do want to use this recipe I might suggest using more flour or less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful results!Firm cookie, but still soft, with a really nice taste. At first I wondered if they were baked long enough, but after they cooled, and I tried one ... Numm!! My husband LOVES sugar cookies, and I am always looking for moist ones. This is a perfect recipe, and I will be making this year after year! Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brite Eyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
One of the best tasting sugar cookies I have tried; must be the cream :) Mine did not brown after about 15 minutes in the oven, and that pan was pretty crispy (couldn't get them off the pan without breaking birdy legs and umbrella handles), so I set my timer for 10 minutes and they were perfect. Didn't brown but did puff up really nicely, I don't like my sugar cookies too thin and crispy and these are the perfect combo of easy to travel but not rock hard. I had help from my 5-year old rolling and cutting, and we re-rolled enough times that by the last rolling there was quite a bit of extra flour in there! Still tender and good though. I did skip the icing this time because I had promised we could make paintbrush cookies; before baking, paint cookies with a mixture of an egg yolk, dash of water, and food coloring. Lots of fun but somewhat time consuming, good for rainy days! Then sprinkle with a little sugar and bake as usual. Next time I would like to try the icing though. I've never had a cookie recipe ask me to cut in the butter, so the texture seemed really weird; I had to work it a bit with my hands and then it rolled out smooth and perfect, easy to work with. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These cookies are WONDERFUL. The dough is so sturdy and easy to handle: pops right out of the cookie cutters. I subbed nutmeg for the mace and the result almost had a flavor reminiscent of eggnog. My cookies were cut small and I baked for SIX minutes - was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this recipe twice. The first time i subbed nutmeg for the mace. They were heavenly! Definitely my new favorite sugar cookie recipe. The second time I used fat-free half and half instead of cream and 1/2 c of sugar, 1/2 c of splenda. I had to bake a little longer (10 minutes). Not as good as the original, but still quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is my new favorite sugar cookie recipe... so easy to make, so easy to handle and cut effortlessly. It baked up beautifuly and everyone loved them!!! 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. I did not have mace, but never the least, these cookies are superb! They were easy to make, extremely easy to roll out and a cinch to bake. The kids loved decorating them. I used a basic buttercream icing since my kiddos love tubing when decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The dough was very good, but it was difficult to make. Do not make this if you're in a hurry. I will try it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My 4 yr. old and I made this tonight. It was so easy and fun. The dough was very easy to work with and super easy to cut out shapes with. They turned out delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States